Bagnaia quickest, Pol Espargaro debuts on new HRC bike

Ducati top the times on Day 2 so far as plenty of updates are continuing to be put through their paces

Midday way through the second and final day of testing at the Official 2022 MotoGP™ Jerez Test, Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati Lenovo Team) is leading the way with a 1:36.872 – the fastest time we’ve seen so far. However, the bigger stories lie elsewhere, as Pol Espargaro (Repsol Honda Team) gets his first taste of 2022 action on the new RC213V.

Francesco Bagnaia, Ducati Lenovo Team, Jerez MotoGP™ Official Test

The Spaniard has been riding the bike that both Takaaki Nakagami (LCR Honda Idemitsu) and Alex Marquez (LCR Honda Castrol) were lapping on yesterday, with Pol Espargaro also trying the different aero packages too.

Pretty much all of the running both fastest man Pecco and teammate Jack Miller (Ducati Lenovo Team) have been doing on Day 2 thus far has been with Ducati’s new aero and air intake, with Miller also doing some runs with the new, much longer exhaust.

The other factories are continuing to lap on their updated machines too. Yamaha have an updated version of their new chassis, plus a new front fairing. Suzuki have some small aero bits that contain different side fairings, as well as testing their 2022 engine. Aprilia have a different chassis on Day 2, the Italian marque also testing the different exhaust back-to-back with the old one, with KTM running the new, big aero package again – but it's slightly different to yesterday.

Aleix Espargaro, Aprilia Racing, Jerez MotoGP™ Official Test

Rookie Darryn Binder (WithU Yamaha RNF MotoGP Team) crashed at Turn 9 – rider ok.

Make sure you tune into After the Flag at 17:30 local time (GMT+1) for every ounce of gossip from the test, and keep an eye on for highlights, interviews, and a report.

Top 10 on Day 2 (as of 14:00 local time):
1. Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati Lenovo Team) – 1:36.872
2. Takaaki Nakagami (LCR Honda Idemitsu) + 0.800
3. Fabio Quartararo (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) + 0.889
4. Joan Mir (Team Suzuki Ecstar) + 1.035
5. Pol Espargaro (Repsol Honda Team) + 1.083
6. Alex Rins (Team Suzuki Ecstar) + 1.122
7. Enea Bastianini (Team Gresini Racing MotoGP) + 1.139
8. Luca Marini (VR46 Racing Team) + 1.153
9. Brad Binder (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) + 1.196
10. Miguel Oliveira (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) + 1.213


Every practice session, qualifying battle and race, exclusive interviews, historic races and so much more fantastic content: this is VideoPass!