Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Miller re-writes the records

By winning the Dutch TT, Jack Miller enters the record books for many different reasons…

- Jack Miller is the fifth youngest rider to win in the premier-class in the MotoGP™ era, after: Marc Marquez, Dani Pedrosa, Jorge Lorenzo and Casey Stoner.

- He is the 12th Australian rider to win in the premier-class, joining: Mick Doohan, Casey Stoner, Wayne Gardner, Daryl Beattie, Jack Findlay, Garry McCoy, Jack Ahearn, Troy Bayliss, Ken Kavanagh, Kevin Magee and Chris Vermeulen.

- It is the first MotoGP™ win by an Australian rider since Casey Stoner won at Phillip Island in 2012.

2012 Australian GP: MotoGP™ Full Race

- Miller is the first rider to take a maiden MotoGP™ win since Marc Marquez won in Austin in 2013. This sequence of 59 races without a first-time winner is the longest in premier-class history.

- This was the first win by an Independent Team rider since Toni Elias won in Portugal in 2006.

Portugal 2006 - MotoGP Full Race

- Miller is the first rider to win a MotoGP™ race having previously won in the Moto3™ class.

- He is just the sixth rider to win a MotoGP™ race without having competed in the intermediate-class of grand prix racing for at least one year, joining: Nicky Hayden, Ben Spies, Makoto Tamada, Troy Bayliss and Chris Vermeulen (Of these riders both Troy Bayliss and Makoto Tamada did compete in the 250cc GP class, but only as wild-card riders).

- Jack Miller’s victory at the Dutch TT makes him the tenth youngest winner of all time in the premier-class. As shown in the following table he misses out on becoming the youngest Australian winner in the premier-class by just fifteen days:

Youngest riders to win a MotoGP/500cc Grand Prix

Rider                          Age at first MotoGP/500cc win                            Race

1. Marc Marquez        20 years 63 days                                 Americas/2013/Austin

2. Freddie Spencer      20 years 196 days                               Belgium/1982/Spa

3. Norick Abe             20 years 227 days                               Japan/1996/Suzuka

    Dani Pedrosa           20 years 227 days                               China/2006/Shanghai

5. Randy Mamola       20 years 239 days                               Belgium/1980/Zolder

6. Jorge Lorenzo         20 years 345 days                               Portugal/2008/Estoril

7. Mike Hailwood       21 years 75 days                                 Britain/1961/IOM TT

8. Valentino Rossi       21 years 144 days                               Britain/2000/Donington

9. Casey Stoner           21 years 145 days                               Qatar/2007/Losail

10. Jack Miller            21 years 160 days                               Dutch TT/2016/Assen