Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

MotoGP™ stat attack: 16 different winners in five seasons

From 2016-2020, 16 riders have stood on the top step and the top 10 closest top 15 finishes have come in the last four campaigns

Tags MotoGP, 2020

Over the past few years, we’ve been treated to endless amounts of magnificent MotoGP™ races. As another stunning season on track draws to a close in 2020, we’ve compiled some of the top stats from the last five years to show just how breathtaking this sport is.


Since 2016, there have been 16 different winners in the premier class. This is equal to the number set between 1976 and 1980: Marc Marquez, Dani Pedrosa, Valentino Rossi, Jorge Lorenzo, Cal Crutchlow, Andrea Iannone, Andrea Dovizioso, Maverick Viñales, Jack Miller, Alex Rins, Danilo Petrucci, Fabio Quartararo, Brad Binder, Miguel Oliveira, Franco Morbidelli and Joan Mir.

At the 2020 European Grand Prix, World Champion Mir became the ninth different winner of 2020. The famously equals the record of the most different winners in a single premier class season set in 2016.

In 2020, with Quartararo (Spain), Binder (Czech Republic), Oliveira (Styria), Morbidelli (San Marino) and Mir (Europe), we saw the emergence of five first time winners in a single premier class season for the first time in the history of Grand Prix racing.

Below are the 10 closest top 15 finishes of all-time in the premier class of Grand Prix racing, all of them have occurred since 2017 (only races that have completed full race distance are considered for inclusion in the following tables):

Rank Year Circuit  Race winner  Time covering top 15 (sec)
1 2019 Losail Andrea Dovizioso 15.093
2 2020 Aragon Alex Rins 15.941
3 2018 Assen Marc Marquez 16.043
4 2020 Misano Franco Morbidelli 20.152
5 2018 Brno Andrea Dovizioso 23.159
6 2018 Losail Andrea Dovizioso 23.287
7 2018 Buriram Marc Marquez 23.628
8 2020 Brno Brad Binder 24.597
9 2017 Aragon Marc Marquez 26.082
10 2017 Phillip Island Marc Marquez 26.168


At the 2020 Styrian Grand Prix, with Oliveira winning in MotoGP™, Marco Bezzecchi in Moto2™ and Celestino Vietti in Moto3™, this was the first time there were three first time winners in all three classes since Assen 2016. Miller, Takaaki Nakagami and Francesco Bagnaia were the three winners at the Dutch Grand Prix.

At the 2020 Czech Grand Prix, riders from seven different nationalities stood on the podium across all three classes, which was the first time this happened since Silverstone back in 2016.

After the Emilia Romagna Grand Prix, with French, South African, Portuguese, Italian and Spanish winners in MotoGP™ during the season, this is the first time there are five different nationalities winning in a single premier class season since 2000, with six nationalities (the record in the class).

In 2020, there have been 26 different winners across all classes of Grand Prix racing, taking the record from 2016 with 25.


Every practice session, qualifying battle and race, exclusive interviews, historic races and so much more fantastic content: this is VideoPass!