Nakagami fastest as rookies make debuts

Day 1 of the 2022 Jerez Test is underway in sunny but windy conditions; new parts and machines rolled out

Just four days since an emotional final Sunday of the 2021 season in Valencia, the MotoGP™ riders are back on track at the Official 2022 Jerez Test as preparations for next season begin. Takaaki Nakagami (LCR Honda Idemitsu) currently tops the times with a 1:37.713, as five rookies make their debuts.

Plenty of new parts have already been given a run out on a windy but sunny opening few hours at the Circuito de Jerez-Angel Nieto, with riders such as Andrea Dovizioso (WithU Yamaha RNF MotoGP Team), Enea Bastianini (Team Gresini Racing MotoGP) and Luca Marini (VR46 Racing Team) all making steps up to newer machinery with their respective factories.

Meanwhile, all five rookies have been on track. The fastest of those so far is Raul Fernandez (Tech3 KTM Factory Racing), with Moto2™ World Champion Remy Gardner (Tech3 KTM Factory Racing), Fabio Di Giannantonio (Team Gresini Racing MotoGP), Marco Bezzecchi (VR46 Racing Team) and Darryn Binder (WithU Yamaha RNF MotoGP Team) all completing at least 17 laps.

Pol Espargaro (Repsol Honda Team) is back on track after his huge Valencia GP crash, fantastic news for the Spaniard and HRC, who have a brand-new 2022 bike to refine in Jerez.

Make sure you tune into After the Flag live at 17:30 local time (GMT+1) to get the full rundown on events from Day 1 at the Jerez Test, as well as sticking around on for a report, highlights and interviews with the riders.

Top 10 (as of 14:00 local time):
1. Takaaki Nakagami (LCR Honda Idemitsu) – 1:37.713
2. Enea Bastianini (Team Gresini Racing MotoGP) + 0.084
3. Alex Rins (Team Suzuki Ecstar) + 0.097
4. Maverick Viñales (Aprilia Racing) + 0.148
5. Fabio Quartararo (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) + 0.307
6. Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati Lenovo Team) + 0.329
7. Johann Zarco (Pramac Racing) + 0.372
8. Franco Morbidelli (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) + 0.419
9. Pol Espargaro (Repsol Honda Team) + 0.452
10. Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia Racing) + 0.494