Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase
30 days ago

250 MotoGP™ races

The MotoGP™ class was introduced in 2002, undergoing several changes in capacity since but always producing deserving champions and hard races.

The MotoGP™ race at the Dutch TT will be the 250th since it was introduced as a replacement for the 500cc class as the premier-class of motorcycle grand prix racing. Below is a selection of MotoGP™ milestones:





April 2002


Suzuka, Japan

First MotoGP™ race won by Rossi on a Honda, Japanese wildcard Akira Ryo is second on a Suzuki and Carlos Checa third on a Yamaha.

September 2002


Rio, Brazil

Rossi clinches the first MotoGP™ title at Rio with four races to spare.

October 2002


Phillip Island, Australia

Jeremy McWilliams’ pole is the last ever for a two-stroke in the MotoGP™ class and the first for a rider using Bridgestone tyres.

May 2003


Le Mans, France

First use of new rain rules designed to do away with aggregate races sees the race restarted as a 13-lap sprint that is won by Sete Gibernau.

June 2003



Loris Capirossi gives Ducati their first GP win since 1959, and the first win by an Italian rider on an Italian bike since Agostini on the MV Agusta in 1976.

August 2003


Brno, Czech

At the Czech GP Chris Burns becomes the last ever rider to race a two-stroke in the MotoGP™ class.

November 2003



Rossi’s last race for Honda, which he wins wearing a Austin Powers paint scheme designed by the winner of a magazine competition.

April 2004


Welkom, South Africa

Rossi wins his first race on a Yamaha, beating Agostini’s record sequence of 22 consecutive podium finishes.

July 2004


Rio, Brazil

Makoto Tamada gives Bridgestone their first win in the top class.

October 2004


Phillip Island, Australia

Valentino Rossi wins a last-lap battle with Sete Gibernau to retain the title and give Yamaha their first top-class title in 12 years.

July 2005


Laguna Seca, USA

MotoGP™ returns to the USA. Home favourite Nicky Hayden takes his maiden MotoGP™ win.

May 2006


Shanghai, China

Dani Pedrosa takes his maiden win in only his fourth MotoGP™ race.

September 2006


Phillip Island, Australia

The flag-to-flag wet-weather rules are used for the first time, every rider pits to change bikes. Marco Melandri wins.

October 2006



The final race of the 990cc era is won by Troy Bayliss, who is the only wild card or replacement rider to win a MotoGP™ race. Capirossi is second to give Ducati their first ever one-two, and Hayden is third to become the first rider other than Rossi to have won the MotoGP™ world title.

May 2007


Le Mans, France

Chris Vermeulen wins in the wet, having swapped bikes in a flag to flag race, ending Suzuki’s six year winning drought and marking Vermeulen’s only race win in the class.

September 2007


Motegi, Japan

Casey Stoner becomes the world champion on a Ducati. Also the first race that saw riders swap bikes part way through a race due to weather conditions changing from a wet to dry race.

March 2008


Losail, Qatar

Qatar hosts the first night race held in the World Championship history won by Casey Stoner and saw Lorenzo qualify on pole for his first race in the MotoGP™ class.

April 2008


Estoril, Portugal

Lorenzo takes his first victory in the MotoGP™ in his rookie season after starting on pole.

September 2008


Motegi, Japan

Rossi takes his fifth MotoGP™ class title with three races to go.

April 2009


Losail, Qatar

Casey Stoner wins the first race after the introduction of the Bridgestone control tyre.

October 2010


Sepang, Malaysia

Lorenzo took his first MotoGP™ World Championship title and went on to set a record for the most points amassed during a single season in the premier class, with a total of 383 points.

October 2011


Phillip Island, Australia

Casey Stoner was crowned as MotoGP™ World Champion for the second time, this time riding a Honda, making him the final 800cc champion before the premier-class changed to 1000cc engines.

October 2012


Sepang, Malaysia

Dani Pedrosa took his fifth victory from six races. This was arguably Pedrosa’s best chance to take a championship title.

October 2012


Phillip Island, Australia

Lorenzo took the World Champion title after Pedrosa crashed out of the lead early on.

April 2013


Austin, USA

Marquez took his first MotoGP™ victory in his rookie season to become the youngest ever rider to win a MotoGP™ race.

June 2013



Rossi took his first victory since 2010 after returning to Yamaha after two largely unsuccessful years on Ducati.

November 2013



Marquez became the youngest premier class World Champion. Marquez also became the first rookie since Kenny Roberts in 1978 to win the championship.

August 2014


Indianapolis, USA

A win in Indianapolis was the last of a sequence of ten successive wins for Marquez.

September 2014



Aleix Espargaro finished in second position on the Forward Yamaha bike, the best result for a rider in the Open-Class category.

November 2014



Championship winner Marquez won for the 13th time in 2014, a new record for the most premier-class wins in a single season.

June 2015



Lorenzo won at Catalunya, taking his forth success win for the first time in his career.

October 2015


Sepang, Malaysia

After an incident between Marquez and Rossi which saw them collide and Marquez fall from his bike, Rossi was penalized, resulting in him starting the final race of the season in Valencia from the back of the grid.

November 2015



At the final race of the season Lorenzo took his seventh win of the season, while Rossi could only finish in fourth from the back of the grid, meaning Lorenzo won the championship by five points.

May 2016


Mugello, Italy

A new top speed record was set by Andrea Iannone in the race of 354.9 km/h