Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase
23 days ago

Moto2™: Stats ahead of Aragon

Track records and stats before the paddock gets back to MotorLand

- Last year the Moto2 race was stopped by a red flag after a crash involving Xavier Simeon (QMMF Racing Team) and Dominique Aegerter (CarXpert Interwetten) on the first lap. The re-started race was for a shortened distance of 14 laps.

- None of the riders currently competing in the Moto2™ class have won an intermediate-class grand prix at the Aragon circuit.

- Johann Zarco (Ajo Motorsport) has twice finished on the podium at the Aragon Grand Prix - second in the 125 race in 2011 and third in the Moto2™ race two years ago.

- Alex Rins (Paginas Amarillas HP 40) started from pole in the Moto3™ class at Aragon in both 2013 and 2014. In 2013 he won the race after a long battle with Maverick Viñales, and two years ago finished fourth. Last year in Aragon he battled for the lead of the Moto2™ race throughout with Tito Rabat, finally losing out by just 0.096 seconds on the sprint to the line.

- Tom Luthi (Garage Plus Interwetten) set the fastest lap of the race on his way to finishing fourth at Aragon two years ago and last year he finished fifth at this race.

- Sam Lowes (Federal Oil Gresini Moto2), who will be making his 50th Moto2™ start, finished ninth at Aragon in 2014 and last year he took the final podium slot. Lowes won the World Supersport race at Aragon in 2012.

- Jonas Folger (Dynavolt Intact GP) finished third in the Moto3™ race at Aragon in 2012 after qualifying on pole position. Last year he finished in fourth place in the Moto2™ race in Aragon.

- Alex Marquez (Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS)  twice finished on the podium in the Moto3™ class in Aragon: second in 2014 only 0.057 from the win, and third in 2013 as a rookie. Last year he crashed out of 5th place on the eighth lap.

- In addition to Alex Rins mentioned above, the only other rider currently competing in Moto2 who has won a grand prix race at the Aragon circuit is Miguel Oliveira (Leopard Racing), who won the Moto3™ race last year.