Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase
27 days ago

#StatAttack: MotoGP™ gear up for the Twin Ring Motegi

Honda's test facility turned racing metropolis unpacks the crates for the Japanese GP

The Motegi circuit was first added to the grand prix schedule in 1999 and has hosted a GP event every year since.  Below are some facts and figures about grand prix racing at Motegi:

- This will be the 18th occasion that a grand prix event has been held at the Motegi circuit.

- Since the introduction of the four-stroke MotoGP™ formula in 2002, Honda have had six MotoGP™ victories at the Motegi circuit

- Yamaha have won the MotoGP™ race at Motegi on four occasions.

- Ducati have had four MotoGP™ wins at the Motegi circuit, the last of which was with Casey Stoner in 2010. The best result for Ducati at Motegi since 2010 is the fifth place finish for Andrea Dovizioso in both 2014 and 2015.

- Suzuki and Kenny Roberts Jnr won the first premier-class grand prix (then the 500cc class) held at Motegi in 1999 and repeated the win in 2000. Since the introduction of MotoGP™ as the premier-class of grand prix racing in 2002 the best result for Suzuki is fifth with John Hopkins in 2005.

- Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda Team) is the rider with most GP wins at the Motegi circuit with five (3 x MotoGP, 1 x 250cc, 1 x 125cc).  Four other riders have had three GP victories at Motegi: Loris Capirossi (3 x MotoGP), Toni Elias (2 x 250cc, 1 x Moto2), Mika Kallio (2 x 125cc, 1 x 250cc) and Jorge Lorenzo (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) (3 x MotoGP).

- Home riders have taken eight GP victories at the Motegi circuit: Masao Azuma – 125cc/1999, Shinya Nakano – 250cc/1999, Daijiro Kato – 250cc/2000, Youichi Ui – 125cc/2001, Tetsuya Harada – 250cc/2001, Makoto Tamada – MotoGP/2004 & Hiroshi Aoyama – 250cc in both 2005 and 2006.

- The last Japanese rider to finish on the podium at Motegi, in any of the three classes, is Hiroshi Aoyama – 2nd in the 250cc race in 2009.