Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase
28 days ago

#StatAttack: Moto2™ at Sepang

Some numbers and stats on the intermediate class before they go racing in Malaysia

- The six Moto2™ races that have taken place at Sepang have been won by six different riders: 2010 – Roberto Rolfo, 2011 – Tom Luthi, 2012 – Alex de Angelis, 2013 – Tito Rabat, 2014 – Maverick Viñales and 2015 – Johann Zarco.

- Prior to last year Johann Zarco (Ajo Motorsport) had a single podium finish at Sepang – third in the 125 race in 2011 behind Maverick Viñales and Sandro Cortese. He finished fourth two years ago in Malaysia after a great battle in the closing stages with Dominique Aegerter. Zarco passed Luthi (Garage Plus Interwetten) on the final lap last year in Malaysia to take the last of his eight wins in 2015.

- Alex Rins (Paginas Amarillas HP40) twice finished on the podium in Malaysia when racing in the Moto3™ class – second in 2013 and third in 2014 after starting down in 17th place on the grid and setting a new Moto3™ lap record while making his way through the field. Last year he crashed out of third place on the tenth lap when battling with Jonas Folger (Dynavolt Intact GP) for third place.

- Tom Luthi has won twice at Sepang, on both occasions after qualifying on pole position; the 125cc race in 2005 and the Moto2™ race in 2011. Last year he again qualified on pole and led at the end of every lap before being passed on the final lap by Zarco. Luthi has won the last two Moto2™ races – the first time in his career that he has achieved back-to-back GP wins.

- Sam Lowes (Federal Oil Gresini Moto2) crashed out of the Moto2™ race in Malaysia two years ago on the fifth lap; he re-started and continued until the end of the 14th lap when he entered the pits and retired from the race. Last year he finished the first lap in seventh place but slipped back through the race to finish 13th.

- Jonas Folger has twice finished on the podium at Sepang: Third in the Moto3™ race in 2012 and third in the Moto2™ race last year.

- Home rider Hafizh Syahrin (Petronas Raceline Malaysia) finished third in the Moto2™ race at Sepang in 2012, in only his second ever start in grand prix racing.

- Sandro Cortese’s (Dynavolt Intact GP) third place finish in Australia was his first podium since the Japanese Grand Prix last year. Cortese won the Moto3™ race at Sepang on his way to taking the 2012 Moto3 world title.

- In addition to Zarco, Cortese and Luthi mentioned above, other riders currently competing in Moto2™ who have grand prix wins at Sepang are: Julian Simon (QMMF Racing Team) (125 – 2009) and Miguel Oliveira (Leopard Racing) (Moto3™ – 2015).

- The Sepang circuit has twice been the venue where the Moto2™ world title has been decided: In 2010 in favour of Toni Elias, and two years ago when Tito Rabat took the title.

- Second place finisher at Phillip Island, Franco Morbidelli (Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS), has been on podium six times in last nine races.