Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase
By LCR Honda

Crutchlow awarded prestigious Torrens Trophy

LCR Honda rider’s achievements recognized by the RAC

Cal Crutchlow has been awarded the Royal Automobile Club’s coveted Torrens Trophy, for being first British rider to win a premier class World Championship Motorcycle Grand Prix in 35 years. The Trophy has only been awarded nine times in its history and only when the Club feels that the achievement justifies it. The shortlist of Torrens Trophy contenders was announced recently at Motorcycle Live, with other nominees including Jonathan Rea (2015 and 2016 WorldSBK Champion).

The Torrens Trophy recognises an individual or organisation considered to have made an outstanding contribution to the cause of safe and skillful motorcycling in the United Kingdom, or to have shown outstanding skill in international motorcycling sporting events in the United Kingdom.

Cal Crutchlow: “I feel very privileged that the Royal Automobile Club considers me worthy of it. It’s taken a long time, and a lot of hard work, and it’s an honour to be recognised by such well-respected industry figures”.

Barrie Baxter, Chairman of the Torrens Trophy Nominations Committee: “Cal Crutchlow is one of the most fearless riders in MotoGP. Last season, Crutchlow became the first Brit to win a premier class race since Barry Sheene in 1981 when he triumphed in the Czech Grand Prix at Brno. It gives me great pleasure to present the 2016 Torrens Trophy to Cal in recognition of his outstanding achievement”.