Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

#StatAttack: MotoGP™ at Mugello and the season so far

Think you know everything about the grid ahead of the Italian GP? Maybe, maybe not...

- This is the 32nd occasion that a GP has been held at the Mugello circuit, including twenty seven times consecutively since 1991.

- The first time that Mugello hosted a grand prix event was in 1976.  The 500cc race was won by Barry Sheene, by the narrow margin of 0.1 sec from Phil Read in a race lasting over 62 minutes. This was at a time when Suzuki riders dominated the premier-class; the first non-Suzuki rider home was Waerum Borge Nielsen in tenth place riding a Yamaha.

- The layout of the Mugello circuit has basically stayed the same since 1976, with the official track length of 5.245km remaining unchanged.

- Yamaha have been the most successful manufacturer in the four-stroke MotoGP™ era at Mugello with a total of ten wins; five successive victories with Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) in the years 2004 through to 2008, in addition to the wins with Jorge Lorenzo in 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015 and 2016.

- Honda have had four wins in the MotoGP™ class at Mugello: Valentino Rossi in 2002 and 2003, Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda Team) in 2010, and Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) in 2014.

- Since Casey Stoner gave Ducati their the single victory at the Mugello in 2009, Andrea Iannone is the only rider to finish on the podium riding for the Italian manufacturer - second place in 2015 and third last year.

- The best results for Suzuki in the MotoGP™ era is 5th, which was achieved by John Hopkins in 2007 and Loris Capirossi in 2009.

- Valentino Rossi is the most successful rider across all the classes at Mugello, with a total of nine victories; one each in 125cc and 250cc classes to add to his seven successive MotoGP wins (2 x Honda + 5 x Yamaha), the last of which came in 2008.

- Loris Capirossi is the only Italian rider other than Rossi to win in the premier-class at Mugello. He won the 500cc race in 2000 after a race long battle with his countrymen Biaggi and Rossi, both of whom crashed in the closing stages.

- The MotoGP™ race at Mugello in 2004 is the shortest ever premier-class grand prix race. The race lasted just six laps, after the first attempt to run the race was stopped due to rain and then restarted for the remaining laps under the rain rules as they stood at that time.

- Italy is, alongside The Netherlands and Great Britain, one of the three countries to have hosted a motorcycle grand prix event each year since the motorcycling World Championship series started in 1949.

- Spanish riders have won the MotoGP™ race at Mugello for the last seven years. The last non-Spanish rider to win in the MotoGP™ class at Mugello was Casey Stoner in 2009.

- The MotoGP™ race victories at Mugello in the fifteen years since it was introduced as the premier-class of Grand Prix racing are shared by just five riders: Valentino Rossi (7 wins), Jorge Lorenzo (Ducati Team) (5 wins); Dani Pedrosa, Casey Stoner and Marc Marquez all having a single win at Mugello.

- The winning margin for Jorge Lorenzo over Marc Marquez at Mugello last year was just 0.019 seconds, making it the seventh closest finish of all-time in the premier-class of grand prix racing.

- Andrea Iannone qualified on pole in 2015 at Mugello riding a Ducati – his first pole in the MotoGP™ class.  This was the first time that an Italian rider on an Italian bike had qualified on pole for a premier-class grand prix in Italy since Giacomo Agostini was on pole for the 500cc GP at Imola in 1972.

- Jonas Folger (Monster Yamaha Tech 3) is the only rider in the MotoGP™ class who has scored points in all of the opening five races of the year.

- With Sam Lowes (Aprilia Racing Team Gresini) finishing in 14th place at the French Grand Prix, all 23 of the riders on the full-time MotoGP™ entry list have now scored points in 2017.

- Following his third place finish at the French Grand Prix, Dani Pedrosa is second in the Championship standings and two places higher than Marc Marquez. The last time that Pedrosa was higher in the championship standings than his teammate was following the Dutch TT in 2013.

- Dani Pedrosa has finished on the podium at the last three races, the first time he has had three successive podium finishes since the Catalunya, Assen and Sachsenring in 2014.

- Marc Marquez has scored 58 points so far in 2017, his lowest points total after the opening five points of the year since moving up to the MotoGP™ class in 2013.

- With his win in France, Maverick Viñales (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) became just the fifth rider to win three times or more in the opening five races of the year in the MotoGP™ era, joining: Valentino Rossi (2002, 2003, 2004,2005), Casey Stoner (2007, 2011), Jorge Lorenzo (2010, 2012), Marc Marquez (2014). On each of these occasions the rider winning three times in the opening five races has gone on to take the world title.

- The podium at the French Grand Prix at Le Mans was only the fourth since the start of 2013 that did not include one of either Marc Marquez or Valentino Rossi. The other podium in this period that did not include either of these two riders were: 2013 – Italy (Lorenzo, Pedrosa, Crutchlow), 2014 – Aragon (Lorenzo, Aleix Espargaro, Crutchlow), 2016 – Austria (Iannone, Dovizioso, Lorenzo).

- At the French Grand Prix, Maverick Viñales became only the ninth rider to win a MotoGP™ race from pole and in the process set a new lap record, joining: Valentino Rossi, Marc Marquez, Casey Stoner, Jorge Lorenzo, Dani Pedrosa, Loris Capirossi, Makoto Tamada, Andrea Iannone.

- At the French GP Valentino Rossi was leading the race entering the final lap but crashed out after being passed by Maverick Viñales. This is just the third time in his premier-class grand prix career that he has failed to win after starting the final lap leading the race. The other occasions this happened were in South Africa in 2002 when he was passed on the final lap by team-mate Tohru Ukawa, and at the French Grand Prix in 2003 when Sete Gibernau took the win after a great last lap battle.

- At Le Mans Johann Zarco (Monster Yamaha Tech 3) became only the third rider to qualify on the front row after appearing in Q1; the other two riders to have done this are Aleix Espargaro at the Dutch TT in 2015 and Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda) at Phillip Island in 2016, a race the Brit went on to win.

- After his second place finish at Le Mans, Johann Zarco will be aiming to be the first French rider to finish on the podium in back-to-back premier-class races since Regis Laconi in the 500cc races at Valencia and Australia in 1999.