Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

#StatAttack: MotoGP™ Down Under

A few little titbits of information before lights out on the Island

Ready to roll Down Under? Here are a few stats and facts to know about MotoGP™ in the land of Aus...

- This will be the 29th Australian Grand Prix, which has been held every year since the first visit in 1989. The first two Australian Grands Prix were held at Phillip Island, before visiting the Eastern Creek circuit for six successive years, then returning to Phillip Island in 1997 where it has since remained.  This is the 23rd time that the GP has taken place at Phillip Island.

MotoGP™ Classics: Australia GP 2000

- Honda are the most successful manufacturer at Phillip Island in the MotoGP™ era with seven victories, including the last two years.

- Ducati have had four MotoGP™ wins at Phillip Island all with Casey Stoner in the years 2007 to 2010. Andrea Iannone’s third place finish two years ago in Australia is the only podium for Ducati at Phillip Island since Stoner’s win in 2010.

- Yamaha have had four MotoGP™ wins at Phillip Island, three with Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) and one with Jorge Lorenzo. The last Yamaha victory at Phillip Island was in 2014 with Valentino Rossi.

MotoGP™ Classics: Australian GP 2004

- Suzuki have had just two podium finishes at Phillip Island in the premier-class: in 2006 when Chris Vermeulen finished second and last year when Maverick Viñales was third.

- All three riders that finished on the MotoGP™ podium in Australia last year were riders who had appeared in the Q1 qualifying session.

- All three podium finishers of the MotoGP™ race at Phillip Island in 2014 were Yamaha mounted – the last all-Yamaha podium in MotoGP™.

- Valentino Rossi is the rider who has had the most wins at Phillip Island, with eight (2 x 250cc, 1 x 500cc, 5 x MotoGP), followed by Casey Stoner with six wins - all in the MotoGP™ class.

2001 Australian Grand Prix: 500cc full race

- Casey Stoner won the MotoGP™ race at Phillip Island for six successive years from 2007 until 2012, the last five of which were from pole position.

- Four current riders have started from pole in the MotoGP™ class at Phillip Island; Valentino Rossi in 2003, Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda Team) in 2007, Jorge Lorenzo in 2013 and Marc Marquez for the last three years.