British GP: 5 different winners in 5 years

Silverstone has served up some classics and since 2013, Lorenzo, Marquez, Rossi, Viñales and Dovizioso have taken victory

Since its return to the MotoGP™ calendar in 2010, Silverstone has hosted some classic races and in the last five years, we’ve witnessed five different winners triumph at the Northamptonshire layout.

The unpredictability in MotoGP™ is one of the many reasons why so many love the sport, so what has happened in the last five years at the iconic Silverstone circuit?

2013: Jorge Lorenzo, who holds the record for the most number of wins at Silverstone with three (2010, 2012 and 2013), beat Marc Marquez in an epic duel between the two Spaniards, with compatriot Dani Pedrosa making it an all-Spanish rostrum.

2014: It was payback for Marquez a year later as he continued his relentless charge to the title with a win on British soil, beating Lorenzo and Valentino Rossi.

2015: A rain-soaked Silverstone set the scene for Rossi to take his fourth win of the season in an epic contest, with fellow Italians Danilo Petrucci and Andrea Dovizioso joining him on the podium.

2016: It was a day to remember for Maverick Viñales after he stormed to a maiden premier class victory and Suzuki’s first since 2007, with home hero Cal Crutchlow second and Rossi third.

2017: Firmly in the hunt for the title, Dovizioso fully capitalised on Marquez’ mechanical problem to take victory in another fantastic British GP, beating the two Yamahas of Viñales and Rossi the top step.

Watch all races LIVE & OnDemand and enjoy the whole video library, including technical features, exclusives interviews and classic races, with the MotoGP™ VideoPass – Now 50% OFF!