Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Migno on top of FP1 in Thailand

The Italian stormed to the head of the field and was the only rider to get in the 1'42s bracket, leaving the others in his wake

Despite inclement weather looking likely, sunny skies greeted the Moto3™ field for their first Free Practice sessions of the weekend at the PTT Thailand Grand Prix. Hot and humid, it was a tough and challenging FP1 for the lightweight class, which featured all of the leading Championship contenders at the head of the field. Come the end of the first session, it was Andrea Migno (Mugen Race) who headed the standings, coming out of the blocks fighting for Thai glory.

A bright start from Andrea Migno saw the Italian take top spot, fighting back strong after what was his one of his more challenging rounds last time at MotorLand Aragon. The 23-year-old spent most of the session in the top ten, with times thoroughly improving in comparison to the same session last year. Behind Migno, it was a strong second for Tony Arbolino (VNE Snipers) who was back in form, whilst Misano winner Tatsuki Suzuki (SIC58 Squadra Corse) was third.

Alonso Lopez (Estrella Galicia 0,0) was up in fourth, whilst Ayumu Sasaki (Petronas Sprinta Racing) completed the top five. Albert Arenas (Gaviota Angel Nieto Team) was briefly leading but finished sixth, ahead of Marcos Ramirez (Leopard Racing) and Aron Canet (Sterilgada Max Racing Team), who is second in the Championship.Julian Jose Garcia (VNE Snipers) was ninth ahead of Filip Salac (Redox PrustelGP) was tenth after briefly leading. Championship leader Lorenzo Dalla Porta (Leopard Racing) was only 14th.

The lightweight class are back in action for FP2 later this afternoon, at 13:15 (GMT+7) local time, for what could be a vital session as rain could disrupt Saturday’s sessions, if it hasn’t already arrived by the afternoon.

1. Andrea Migno (Mugen Race)
2. Tony Arbolino (VNE Snipers) +0.252
3. Tatsuki Suzuki (SIC58 Squadra Corse) +0.278
4. Alonso Lopez (Estrella Galicia 0,0) +0.669
5. Ayumu Sasaki (Petronas Sprinta Racing) +0.692
6. Albert Arenas (Gaviota Angel Nieto Team) +0.768
7. Marcos Ramirez (Leopard Racing) +0.788
8. Aron Canet (Sterilgada Max Racing Team) +0.813
9. Julian Luis Garcia (VNE Snipers) +0.819
10. Filip Salac (Redox PrustelGP) +0.851

Click here for results!

Watch every 2019 race LIVE & OnDemand and enjoy the whole video library, including technical features, exclusive interviews and classic races, with the MotoGP™ VideoPass