Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Quartararo on top overall, Dovizioso fights back in FP3

With Quartararo on top, eyes were on Andrea Dovizioso who stormed to the front of the field in FP3, although the top ten remain unchanged

After a slight delay at the PTT Thailand Grand Prix for the MotoGP™ FP3 session, the premier class was back out on track for their first ever wet session in Thailand. With no improvements coming due to the wet weather, the top ten remains the same as Friday’s conclusive FP2. Reduced to 35 minutes and with a prominent dry line forming at the end, it was Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) who topped the session ahead of Franco Morbidelli (Petronas Yamaha SRT) and Alex Rins (Team Suzuki Ecstar), whilst Fabio Quartararo (Petronas Yamaha SRT) remained ahead overall.

The master of the inclement conditions, there was no surprise to Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) firing in quick lap times from the get-go. After five minutes, he had 1.6s on the opposition, although times came in thick and fast from then on in. With 20 to go, Danilo Petrucci (Ducati Team) went to the top, whilst Franco Morbidelli (Petronas Yamaha SRT) and Maverick Viñales (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) came good in the difficult weather.

In the closing stages, conditions were dry enough for slick tyre, with Alex Rins (Team Suzuki Ecstar), Franco Morbidelli, Karel Abraham (Reale Avintia Racing) and Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) being the first to venture out on slick rubber. Soon, the majority of the field followed suit, with the track being completely dry on the racing line, with the exception of a treacherous Turn 1.

Dovizioso ended the session on top, with Morbidelli, Rins, Marquez, Viñales, Abraham and Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda Castrol) in behind. Joan Mir, Fabio Quartararo (Petronas Yamaha SRT) – who was fastest on Friday – and Miguel Oliveira (Red Bull KTM Tech 3) rounded out the tricky FP3.

Top 10 after Free Practice combined, full MotoGP™ FP3 results here!

1. Fabio Quartararo (Petronas Yamaha SRT) 1’30.404
2. Maverick Viñales (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) +0.193
3. Franco Morbidelli (Petronas Yamaha SRT) +0.221
4. Jack Miller (Pramac Racing) +0.294
5. Valentino Rossi (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) +0.329
6. Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) +0.487
7. Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia Racing Team Gresini) +0.603
8. Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) +0.623
9. Joan Mir (Team Suzuki Ecstar) +0.682
10. Alex Rins (Team Suzuki Ecstar) +0.690

Watch every 2019 race LIVE & OnDemand and enjoy the whole video library, including technical features, exclusive interviews and classic races, with the MotoGP™ VideoPass