Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

All you need to know about the 2020 Global Series Rounds

The MotoGP eSport Global Series is back and bigger than ever in 2020. Here are some FAQ on the second and final stage of this year’s series.

Tags 2020

On the back of its stunning success in 2019, the MotoGP™ eSport Championship is bigger and better than ever for the new season with an expanded format, four-round Global Series and a chance for gamers to become part of the MotoGP™ World Championship.

2019 came to a dramatic close with AndrewZh claiming the crown for Ducati, beating two-time Champion Trastevere73 (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) in an exciting changing of the guard. Now it’s time to see who will lift the crown in 2020, beginning with the online Pro Draft before four on-site rounds: the Global Series.

With last year’s Global Series met with resounding acclaim and boasting new record audiences, the format has been tweaked for 2020. So what are these changes? Here we address some FAQ on the new format.

What is the Global Series?
This is the third and final round of the 2020 MotoGP™ in which eleven finalists decided by the Pro Draft will compete in an eight-race series that will be held over four different MotoGP venues. Gamers receive points for the position in which they finish each race. The competitor with the highest points total after 8 races will be the 2020 MotoGP™ eSport Champion.

Where will the rounds be held?
Following on from the 2019 Global Series model, each round will run in conjunction with one from the 2020 MotoGP™ calendar. The Global Series will kick off on 29th May at the Autodromo Internazionale del Mugello at the famous Italian Grand Prix. Round two comes from Austria’s plush Red Bull Ring on 14th August during the Austrian Grand Prix. The third takes place at Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli, home of the San Marino Grand Prix, on 11th September. The crucial final round takes place at Circuit Ricardo Tormo in Valencia on 13th November.

On which console with the Global Series be contested?
All races will be disputed on Lenovo Legion™ PCs with every gamer able to choose their preferred controller.

What is the points system for the Global Series?
For Rounds 1 to 3, points issued for the Global Series will be the same as those on offer for MotoGP races. That is: 1st place 25 points, 2nd 20 points, 3rd 16 points, 4th 13 points, 5th 11 points, 6th 10 points, 7th 9 points, 8th 8 points, 9th 7 points, 10th 6 points, 11th 5 points.

However for the final round (races 7 and 8), gamers will be awarded double points depending on their finishing position. The points on offer are: 1st 50 points, 2nd 40 points, 3rd 32 points, 4th 26 points, 5th 22 points, 6th 20 points, 7th 18 points, 8th 16 points, 9th 14 points, 10th 12 points, 11th 10 points.

What if a two gamers end the Global Series with the same number of points?
If this happens, the competitor with the higher number of race wins will be declared MotoGP™ eSport Champion. Should they have the same number of wins, then the gamer with the higher number of second places will be named Champion. And if the number of second places is the same, it will be decided by the higher number of third place finishes.  

Will the Global Series be broadcast on the internet/streaming services/television?
It will! All Global Series rounds will be broadcasted through different TV channels and digital broadcasters, including the MotoGP website and social media channels and a host of television/streaming platforms around the world.

Other than competing during the Global Series rounds, how will the finalists spend their weekend?
As each competitor will represent a particular MotoGP team, they will be on site during the weekend and will have the opportunity to meet that team’s riders and technicians, as well as see the inner workings of their weekend.

More information available at: 

If you have any doubts do not hesitate to contact us