Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Pol Espargaro fastest so far, Rossi debuts new exhaust

The KTM rider leads the way as Yamaha unveils a radical new exhaust during the opening Misano Test stint

Tags MotoGP, 2020

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Pol Espargaro currently tops the Misano Test timesheets with a 1:32.054, with San Marino GP podium finishers Joan Mir (Team Suzuki Ecstar) and Francesco Bagnaia (Pramac Racing) second and third as half a second covers the top 13.

Petronas Yamaha SRT rider and San Marino GP winner Franco Morbidelli is sitting out the test due to an upset stomach, the team confirmed this morning. In addition, Iker Lecuona (Red Bull KTM Tech3) is also not riding. In the Yamaha camp, Valentino Rossi (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) had a new, radical exhaust pipe fitted to both his YZR-M1s. Repsol Honda Team have also said that Alex Marquez is trying out a new exhaust pipe too.

Takaaki Nakagami (LCR Honda Idemitsu) was donning HRC colours before he crashed – unhurt – in the opening session, with Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Brad Binder experiencing an issue with his bike during the morning. According to our man on the ground Simon Crafar, the factory KTMs have a strange new white cover over some cables that come out from the tank cover, go around the steering head and back under the tank cover on the other side – look out for those. Moreover, the riders have been testing the Race Direction radio communication software that Stefan Bradl (Repsol Honda Team) tried over the San Marino GP weekend. 

Simon Crafar and Amy Reynolds will be bringing you a Facebook Live at 14:30 to give you all the lowdown from what has happened so far at Misano. At 16:30, VideoPass subscribers can watch the final 90 minutes of the test LIVE with Matt Birt, Steve Day and Crafar, before fans can watch After the Flag for free at 18:20 local time (GMT+2).

Keep your eyes peeled for an end of day report, highlights and interviews from the Misano Test after the action has ended. 

Top 10 as of 13:00 local time:
1. Pol Espargaro (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) – 1:32.054
2. Joan Mir (Team Suzuki Ecstar) + 0.128
3. Francesco Bagnaia (Pramac Racing) + 0.153
4. Alex Rins (Team Suzuki Ecstar) + 0.179
5. Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) + 0.236
6. Takaaki Nakagami (LCR Honda Idemitsu) + 0.244
7. Maverick Viñales (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) + 0.265
8. Fabio Quartararo (Petronas Yamaha SRT) + 0.299
9. Johann Zarco (Esponsorama Racing) + 0.391
10. Alex Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) + 0.462

Click here to access LIVE TIMING!

Every practice session, qualifying battle and race, exclusive interviews, historic races and so much more fantastic content: this is VideoPass!