Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

How are the Moto2™ and Moto3™ teams taking shape for 2021?

We look through who is going where ahead of next season, with plenty of seats still undecided in both the intermediate and lightweight class

Tags Moto2, 2020


The current season may not have yet come to its climatic conclusion, but that hasn’t stopped teams across the grid from planning ahead as they look to secure the perfect rider for their seats.

It has already been confirmed that plenty of riders will be moving between teams ahead of the 2021 season, while there will be a number of new faces who join from the lightweight class. Tony Arbolino (Rivacold Snipers Team), Barry Baltus (CarXpert PrüestelGP), Albert Arenas (Solunion Aspar Team) are just some of the riders making the jump up, as they join Liqui Moly Intact GP, NTS RW Racing GP and Aspar Team respectively.

Exciting prospect and 5-time reigning AMA Superbike Champion Cameron Beaubier will join Tennor American Racing in place of his compatriot Joe Roberts, who moves to Italtrans Racing, replacing premier class bound Enea Bastianini.

There are plenty of switches between teams also, with Thomas Luthi moving to Onexox SAG TKKR Team as a replacement for Remy Gardner, with the Australian trying his luck with Red Bull KTM Ajo for next season. Elsewhere, Fabio DiGiannantonio will return to Gresini racing, having competed with them during his Moto3™ days, as a replacement for Edgar Pons (Federal Oil Gresini Moto2).

Lorenzo Baldassarri will return to MV Augusta Forward Racing, having competed for the Swiss based team between 2015 and 2017, with Stefano Manzi moving in the opposite direction to FlexBox HP 40.


Petronas Sprinta Racing: Jake Dixon + Xavi Vierge

Red Bull KTM Ajo: Remy Gardner

Italtrans Racing Team: Joe Roberts + Lorenzo Dalla Porta

Liqui Moly Intact GP: Tony Arbolino + Marcel Schrötter

Onexox SAK TKKR Team: Thomas Luthi + Kasma Daniel

MV Augusta Forward: Lorenzo Baldassarri

Aspar Team: Albert Arenas + Aron Canet

Federal Oil Gresini Moto2: Fabio DiGiannantonio + Nicolo Bulega

NTS RW Racing GP: Barry Baltus

Tennor American Racing: Cameron Beaubier + Marcos Ramirez

Flexbox HP40: Stefano Manzi + Hector Garzo



In the lightweight class, we already know how the majority of the new grid will look come the opening weekend of the 2021 season.

Darryn Binder will join John McPhee at Petronas Sprinta Racing with Kaito Toba (Red Bull KTM Ajo) replacing the South African at CIP Green Power. Jaume Masia will leave Leopard Racing on a high, with the young Spaniard earning back to back victories in the Aragon double, and he looks a shrewd acquisition for Red Bull KTM Ajo.

Andrea Migno will move to Rivacold Snipers for the 2021 season as his time with SKY Racing VR46 is up, while Sergio Garcia’s time at Estrella Galicia 0,0 comes to an end this season as it has already been confirmed he will replace Albert Arenas at Aspar Team.

Pedro Acosta will make the move to Moto3™ with CarXpert Prüstel GP, while Xavier Artigas is another confirmed debutant with Leopard Racing.


Petronas Sprinta Racing: John McPhee + Darryn Binder

Kömmerling Gresini Moto3: Jeremy Alcoba + Gabriel Rodrigo

Red Bull KTM Ajo: Jaume Masia + Raul Fernandez

CIP Green Power: Kaito Toba

Rivacold Snipers Team: Filip Salac + Andrea Migno

SIC58 Squadra Corse: Tatsuki Suzuki

CarXpert Prüestel: Pedro Acosta + Jason Dupasquier

Aspar Team: Sergio Garcia

Leopard Racing: Dennis Foggia + Xavier Artigas

Red Bull KTM Tech 3: Ayumu Sasaki + Deniz Oncu

Reale Avintia Racing: Carlos Tatay

Every practice session, qualifying battle and race, exclusive interviews, historic races and so much more fantastic content: this is VideoPass!