Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase
5 days ago

Migno stays top as Acosta improves to P2, Foggia struggles

The World Championship leader made progress in another wet session at Misano, as rival Foggia ends Friday down in 23rd

Andrea Migno (Rivacold Snipers Team) is the fastest Moto3™ rider on a wet Day 1 at the Gran Premio Nolan del Made in Italy e dell'Emilia-Romagna. The Italian’s FP1 time, a 1:52.529, wasn’t beaten in the afternoon – but World Championship leader Pedro Acosta (Red Bull KTM Ajo) got close. The Spaniard sits 0.007s down on Migno, Alberto Surra (Rivacold Snipers Team) claimed P3 overall as title contender Dennis Foggia (Leopard Racing) struggled to a P23 finish on the opening day.  

A wet Free Practice Friday, contrasting fortunes for Acosta and Foggia

With rain persisting at the Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli, the Moto3™ riders spend both FP1 and FP2 getting to grips with the wet conditions. After topping FP1 despite a crash, Migno’s time wasn’t beaten, but it was Acosta who took charge in FP2 to finish 0.7s clear of Surra.

Foggia ended FP2 down in P22, 1.9s off his rival’s pace on a tricky day for the Italian – plenty of work to do for Foggia, especially if the wet weather continues to play a role in proceedings this weekend.

The top 10

Behind the top three, Ayumu Sasaki (Red Bull KTM Tech3) picked up P4 with a late lap in the second session, with Filip Salač (CarXpert PrüstelGP) going well in the treacherous conditions on Day 1 to finish P5. Niccolo Antonelli (Avintia VR46 Academy), wildcard Mario Aji (Honda Team Asia) – a crasher in FP2 – and COTA winner Izan Guevara (Gaviota GASGAS Aspar Team) take away top eights on Friday. Yuki Kunii (Honda Team Asia) and Stefano Nepa (BOE Owlride) closed out a top 10 that is split by 1.066s ahead of qualifying day.

The lightweight class will be back out on track at 09:00 local time (GMT+2), with more rain forecast – bad news for Foggia, not so bad news for Acosta as things stand.

Top 10 combined:
1. Andrea Migno (Rivacold Snipers Team) – 1:52.529
2. Pedro Acosta (Red Bull KTM Ajo) + 0.007
3. Alberto Surra (Rivacold Snipers Team) + 0.278
4. Ayumu Sasaki (Red Bull KTM Tech 3) + 0.820
5. Filip Salač (Car Xpert Pruestel GP) + 0.833
6. Niccolo Antonelli (Avintia VR46 Academy) + 0.888
7. Mario Aji (Honda Team Asia) + 0.900
8. Izan Guevara (Gaviota GASGAS Aspar Team) + 0.917
9. Yuki Kunii (Honda Team Asia) + 1.062
10. Stefano Nepa (BOE Owlride) + 1.066

Every practice session, qualifying battle and race, exclusive interviews, historic races and so much more fantastic content: this is VideoPass!