Fernandez sets the pace on Saturday ahead of Lunetta

The Spaniard was quickest in Practice 2 ahead of Lunetta and Piqueras at the Sachsenring

Moto3™ kicked off Saturday’s proceedings with Adrian Fernandez (Leopard Racing) returning to the top of the timesheets in Germany after a fantastic session for the #31. Fernandez was on a mission in the final run, crossing the line and setting a 1:25.053 ahead of SIC58 Squadra Corse’s Luca Lunetta, who rounded off a brilliant Saturday morning. The Italian was 0.178s shy of the top spot, with ever-impressive rookie Angel Piqueras (Leopard Racing) rounding out a Honda top three.

It was a session of building for some, with the times slowly coming down until the final 10 minutes when the awaited time attacks began. Stefano Nepa (LEVELUP MTA) continued to lead thanks to his competitive time from Friday until Fernandez soon hit the top as yellow flags delayed the chances for the riders to improve due to a late crash for Daniel Holgado (Red Bull GASGAS Tech3) and Honda Team Asia’s Taiyo Furusato.

Taking fourth was Collin Veijer (Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP), who set a strong banker lap early on, which allowed the Dutchman to place ahead of title rival David Alonso (CFMOTO Gaviota Aspar Team). Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Jose Antonio Rueda was sixth ahead of Moto3™ veteran Tatsuki Suzuki, who completed a strong morning for the Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP squad in seventh. Meanwhile, rookie Jacob Roulstone was P8 and is the only Red Bull GASGAS Tech3 machine inside the top 14.

Further down the order, David Muñoz (BOE Motorsports) and MT Helmets – MSI’s Ryusei Yamanaka took the final spots inside the top 10, ahead of Joel Esteban CFMOTO Gaviota Aspar Team), who was down in P11. Joel Kelso (BOE Motorsports) set an identical time to Esteban to finish P12 ahead of Matteo Bertelle (Kopron Rivacold Snipers Team) and Furusato, who took the final Q2 spots. However, there is an action-packed Q1 instore with Ivan Ortola (MT Helmets – MSI) down in 16th Holgado, who heads into qualifying in P20.

Next up is qualifying which will begin at 12:50 local time (UTC +2) to set the grid for Sunday, so make sure you don’t miss any of the action and tune in on motogp.com!

Combined top 10:

1 Adrian Fernandez (Leopard Racing) 1:25.053
2 Luca Lunetta (SIC58 Squadra Corse) +0.178
3 Angel Piqueras (Leopard Racing) +0.197
4 Collin Veijer (Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP)  +0.233
5 David Alonso (CFMOTO Gaviota Aspar Team)  +0.280
6 Jose Antonio Rueda (Red Bull KTM Ajo)    +0.319
7 Tatsuki Suzuki (Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP)  +0.350
8 Jacob Roulstone (Red Bull GASGAS Tech3) +0.459
9 David Muñoz (BOE Motorsports)  +0.496
10 Ryusei Yamanaka (MT Helmets - MSI)  +0.520