Granado finds pace in FP2 to hunt down Aegerter

The Brazilian was three tenths clear on Friday afternoon but the Swiss rider’s FP1 time remains fastest overall

Dominique Aegerter (Dynavolt Intact GP) will lead the FIM Enel MotoE™ World Cup field into Saturday’s action at the Gran Premio Red Bull de Andalucia thanks to a 1:48.024 in FP1. Spanish GP race winner Eric Granado (Avintia Esponsorama Racing) came close to knocking the rookie off P1 in FP2 as the Brazilian finished 0.3 clear of the competition in the afternoon to take P2 on Day 1, with Mattia Casadei (Ongetta SIC58 Squadracorse) completing the top three.

Eric Granado, Avintia Esponsorama Racing, Gran Premio Red Bull de Andalucía

The afternoon session saw the MotoE™ riders completing E-Pole simulations, with FP2 taking place at a similar time to the electric class’ qualifying. Granado had the perfect weekend at the Spanish GP and began his weekend in Andalucia by finishing P6 in FP1. However, in the afternoon, Granado stepped it up a notch on board his Energica Ego Corsa to go six tenths quicker than he did in the cooler FP1 conditions. This saw him beat Aegerter by three tenths in FP2, but the latter kept his place at the summit as a trio of riders sit within a tenth at the top – Aegerter, Granado and Casadei.

Alex de Angelis (Octo Pramac Racing) and reigning Cup winner Matteo Ferrari (Trentino Gresini MotoE) complete the top five after the opening day’s action, the duo under half a second from Aegerter’s pace. Jordi Torres (Pons Racing 40) is sixth quickest ahead of Alejandro Medina, the Openbank Aspar Team rider the only other person to improve in the afternoon in the top 12. Niccolo Canepa (LCR E-Team), Mike Di Meglio (EG 0,0 Marc VDS) and Xavier Simeon (LCR E-Team) round out the top 10.

The red flags briefly came out in FP2 after Niki Tuuli crashed his Avant Ajo MotoE machine. Thankfully the rider was ok after a Turn 6 highside, with the first-ever MotoE™ race winner hoping to climb the standings on Saturday after finishing 11th.

Lukas Tulovic, Tech3 E-Racing, Gran Premio Red Bull de Andalucía

FP3 for the MotoE™ riders will take place at 11:50 local time (GMT+2) before E-Pole begins at 16:05.

Top 10 combined:
1. Dominique Aegerter (Dynavolt Intact GP) – 1.48.024
2. Eric Granado (Avintia Esponsorama Racing) + 0.032
3. Mattia Casadei (Ongetta SIC58 Squadracorse) + 0.059
4. Alex de Angelis (Octo Pramac Racing) + 0.104
5. Matteo Ferrari (Trentino Gresini MotoE) + 0.284
6. Jordi Torres (Pons Racing 40) + 0.499
7. Alejandro Medina (Openbank Aspar Team) + 0.666
8. Niccolo Canepa (LCR E-Team) + 0.705
9. Mike Di Meglio (EG 0,0 Marc VDS) + 0.820
10. Xavier Simeon (LCR E-Team) + 0.865

Click here for the full FP1 and FP2 results!

Every practice session, qualifying battle and race, exclusive interviews, historic races and so much more fantastic content: this is VideoPass!