2021 Idemitsu Asia Talent Cup Entry List and calendar

20 full-time riders are set to race in the six-round, 12-race 2021 Cup.

The provisional Entry List and calendar for the 2021 Idemitsu Asia Talent Cup can now be revealed. 20 full-time riders are set to race in the six-round, 12-race 2021 Cup, with four competitors chosen as reserves. The 24 riders hail from seven countries across Asia and Oceania: Australia, India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Thailand and Turkey. 

As the Covid-19 pandemic obliged the cancellation of the 2020 Cup following the opening round in Qatar, including the 2021 Selection Event, every rider who was set to compete in the Cup this season automatically had a spot available on the 2021 grid.  

The majority of the 2021 Entry List therefore comprises familiar faces, with any remaining places filled by riders from national championships or racing schools across Asia and Oceania, chosen by the ATC Selection Committee. 

As previously announced, Harrison Voight will not return to compete in the IATC as he was chosen to compete in the Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup. Voight will also compete in the 2021 FIM Moto3™ Junior World Championship. Compatriot Max Gibbons will also leave the IATC.

In addition, Malaysian Syarifuddin Azman will leave the IATC, instead focusing on the Moto3™ JWCh in 2021. Shoki Igarashi has also decided to not return to the grid in 2021. 

Joining the IATC for 2021 are Australians and Oceania Junior Cup alumni Marianos Nikolis and Tom Drane, who were the Champion and the runner up, respectively, in the 2020 OJC.

Young Malaysian Hakim Danish, who was put forward by Sepang International Circuit, will also join the grid, as will Tetsuya Fujita, a rider from the All Japan Championship chosen by Honda.

Another key headline sees the return of Danial Sharil. The Malaysian suffered leg injuries in the final round of the 2018 IATC and has since been on a long but successful road to recovery, ready to take his place back on the grid next season. 

Competition is set to begin alongside MotoGP™️ in Qatar, before making a first visit to Sepang International Circuit with the Malaysia Superbike Championship. From there the Cup is back with the Grand Prix paddock at the Twin Ring Motegi, Buriram and Sepang, before rounding out the season alongside WorldSBK at Mandalika Street Circuit in Indonesia.

All dates, events, and the eventual attendance of spectators are subject to the evolution of the pandemic and the approval of corresponding governments and authorities. 

Download 2021 Provisional Calendar

Download 2021 Entry List