10 things to know before the Spanish GP

The MotoGP™ race in Jerez looks set to be a thriller, here's why...

Qualifying on Saturday for the Gran Premio Red Bull de España was incredibly close, which sets Sunday's race up to be a classic at the Circuito de Jerez - Angel Nieto. Here are 10 reasons why you need to tune in...

1- Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda Castrol) qualified on pole position for the fourth time of his Grand Prix career, his first dry-weather pole position since Brno back in 2013. He will be aiming to become the first British rider to win from pole since Barry Sheene in Sweden back in 1981.

2- Crutchlow is the fourth different rider to qualify on pole position this year; the last time there were four different riders who qualified on pole position on the opening fourth races of the season in the premier class was in 2009.

3- In second place on the grid is Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda Team), who won the race last year at Jerez from pole position. This is the first time there are two Honda riders on the front row since Silverstone last year, and two Honda riders 1st and 2nd on the grid since Jerez last year.

4- Johann Zarco (Monster Yamaha Tech 3) qualified in third place on the grid and will start from the front row for the eighth successive time since Japan last year. He is also the highest-placed Yamaha rider on the grid for the second time this year.

5- Heading the second row is Jorge Lorenzo (Ducati Team), which is his best qualifying result since he was also fourth last year in Valencia last season. He stood on the podium for the first time on Ducati last year at Jerez.

6- In fifth place on the grid is Marc Márquez (Repsol Honda Team), which is the first time he failed to qualify on the front row at Jerez since he moved up to the MotoGP™ class back in 2013.

7- The top Suzuki rider on the grid is Álex Rins (Team Suzuki Ecstar), who completes the second row. He will be aiming to give Suzuki its third podium in a row since 2008.

8- Heading the third row is Andrea Iannone (Team Suzuki Ecstar), who will be aiming to take his first back-to-back podium in the premier class.

9- Championship leader, Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) starts from eighth place on the grid for the second successive time. Jerez is one of two current circuits where he has not had a podium finish in the MotoGP™ class, along with Buriram, which joins the calendar this year.

10- Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP), who is the most successful rider at the Jerez circuit with nine Grand Prix wins, starts from 10th on the grid. This is his worst qualifying result at this track since he was 13th back in 2012.