Acosta storms to stunning Sachsenring victory in Moto3™ epic

The rookie just keeps on winning after a huge battle for victory in the lightweight class

The Liqui Moly Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland saw a classic encounter at the Sachsenring in the Moto3™ World Championship race, with the usual chopping and changing taking place throughout the 27-lap duel. After a chaotic race packed full of drama, it was a fourth win of the 2021 season for Pedro Acosta (Red Bull KTM Ajo), who stunned once again with another masterful, tactically superb race by hitting the front in the closing stages, holding off Kaito Toba (CIP Green Power) and Dennis Foggia (Leopard Racing).


As lights went out for the first race of the day, it was Kaito Toba who grabbed the early holeshot but ran wide, allowing Tatsuki Suzuki (SIC58 Squadra Corse) to get back ahead of him, whilst the likes of Dennis Foggia and John McPhee (Petronas Sprinta Racing) chasing in behind. In his usual style and having started down in 13th, it was a great start from Championship leader Pedro Acosta who was already inside the top ten.

The race settled down, with Darryn Binder (Petronas Sprinta Racing) serving his ride through penalty at the end of Lap 3 and soon enough, it was Foggia who hit the front and the Italian was starting to stamp his authority on the race. However, it was Championship leader Acosta who was coming through the field and starting to show his colours as at the beginning of Lap 6, he hit the front at Turn 1. He tried to stretch the field immediately but at Turn 1 a lap later, he ran wide, and Foggia retook the lead. There was drama down the field as Yuki Kunii (Honda Team Asia) was knocked off after a collision with Jaume Masia (Red Bull KTM Ajo), resulting in the end of his race and a long lap penalty for Masia.


Then, there began a string of crashes, with the first major name out of the leading group being Gabriel Rodrigo (Indonesian Racing Gresini Moto3), as he highsided at Turn 5 in spectacular fashion. He was able to walk away but it was another disappointing Sunday morning for the Argentine on Lap 11. On Lap 13, Romano Fenati (Sterilgarda Max Racing Team) collided with Deniz Öncü (Red Bull KTM Tech 3), resulting in the Turkish rider falling and John McPhee having to take avoiding action – in a separate incident, Lorenzo Fellon (SIC58 Squadra Corse) tucked the front at the same corner.                 

On Lap 15, there were two more Turn 1 incidents, as Jaume Masia, having recovered well from the long lap penalty he was handed, tagged the rear end of Dennis Foggia, resulting in the Spaniard going down whilst Foggia was able to continue. Behind all of that, there was drama for Ryusei Yamanaka (CarXpert PruestelGP), as he highsided going into Turn 1, skittling Ricardo Rossi (BOE Owlride), whilst teammate Stefano Nepa also went down at Turn 3, but rejoined, only to retire.        


Back at the front on Lap 22, Pedro Acosta hit the front on the run towards Turn 12, with Foggia slipping in behind, whilst now in the leading group, Sergio Garcia (Gaviota GASGAS Aspar Team) was starting to come into the game. Likewise ghosting his way into contention, Andrea Migno (Rivacold Snipers Team) was right with the main riders at the front. With four laps to go, it was Foggia, Acosta, Garcia, Migno, Suzuki and also Jeremy Alcoba (Indonesian Racing Gresini Moto3), with Toba in behind but that was all about to change in the final few laps. 

A heroic final lap and a half saw Jeremy Alcoba storm through into the leading positions, but he exceeded track limits and was therefore handed a penalty to drop one position on the final lap. All the while, it was Acosta who held his nerve against Foggia, who tried a move for the lead at Turn 7 but ran wide, before Alcoba also then pushed his way through with Kaito Toba also shoving his KTM through too. Toba was now challenging Alcoba for second and got him at Turn 12, before setting his sights on Acosta going into the final corner for the final time. 


Despite Toba’s late braking and front-end chattering into the apex, it was Pedro Acosta who resisted the pressure from the opposition, to take his fourth win of his rookie campaign and to extend his Championship advantage to 55 points, giving KTM their first Moto3™ win at the Sachsenring since 2014, when it was Jack Miller. Second went to Kaito Toba, his first podium since the Teruel Grand Prix in 2020. Crossing the line in third, Jeremy Alcoba would later be demoted for not adhering to dropping one position for his track limits discretion, promoting Dennis Foggia to third and for his third podium of the season. Alcoba took fourth whilst Andrea Migno took fifth.


Niccolo Antonelli (Avintia Esponsorama Moto3) had a quiet race but with penalties around him, he enjoyed sixth place, ahead of Sergio Garcia and Tatsuki Suzuki, both of whom were handed a one-place demotion for the same reason as Alcoba was. Xavier Artigas (Leopard Racing) and Izan Guevara (Gaviota GASGAS Aspar Team) completed the top ten. 

Next up was John McPhee in 11th, replacement rider Elia Bartolini (Avintia Esponsorama Moto3) who came up from 25th on the grid and Romano Fenati (Sterilgarda Max Racing Team) who took a long lap penalty. In 14th, Darryn Binder got points after his ride through penalty whilst Indonesia’s Ani Farid Izdihar (Honda Team Asia) took the final point. Öncü finished 16th after his crash, whilst replacement rider Joel Kelso (CIP Green Power) took 17th ahead of a remounted Yamanaka.

Top 10 after Moto3™ Grand Prix, 27 laps: 

1. Pedro Acosta (Red Bull KTM Ajo)
2. Kaito Toba (CIP Green Power) + 0.130
3. Dennis Foggia (Leopard Racing) + 0.259
4. Jeremy Alcoba (Indonesian Gresini Moto3) + 0.206*
5. Andrea Migno (Rivacold Snipers Team) + 0.459
6. Niccolo Antonelli (Avintia Esponsorama) + 0.728
7. Sergio Garcia (Gaviota GasGas Aspar Team) + 0.537*
8. Tatsuki Suzuki (SIC58 Squadra Corse) + 0.647*
9. Xavier Artigas (Leopard Racing) + 1.017
10. Izan Guevara (Gaviota GasGas Aspar Team) + 6.710

*denotes riders were told to drop one position on the final lap.

Every practice session, qualifying battle and race, exclusive interviews, historic races and so much more fantastic content: this is VideoPass!