Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Marquez nominated for Laureus award

Marquez nominated for Laureus award

MotoGP™ World Champion Marc Marquez has been nominated for the main Laureus World Sports Award.

Last year the Spaniard won the Laureus Breakthrough Award after taking the 2013 MotoGP title, as the youngest ever rider to win the premier class title.

After retaining the title in 2014 he is now up for the main award for "Best Sportsman of the Year", with the likes of Lewis Hamilton (Formula 1), Novak Djokovic (Tennis), Rory McIlroy (Golf) and Cristiano Ronaldo (Football) also nominated.

The Laureus Foundation provides financial and practical support to over 150 projects related to education for young people living in deprived areas of the world. The result of the vote of the Laureus Awards and the awards ceremony will take place on 15th April in Shanghai.

MotoGP, 2015, Marc Marquez, Repsol Honda Team

Other updates you may be interested in ›