Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Which Moto3™ rider will turn 19 on race day in Jerez?

Which Moto3™ rider will turn 19 on race day in Jerez?

All of the essential Moto3™  facts and figures ahead of the Gran Premio bwin de España at the Circuito de Jerez.

Danny Kent’s second victory in a row in Argentina now means he enjoys a 17 point lead at the top of the Moto3™ World Championship standings:

  • Danny Kent has won the last two Moto3™ races and a victory for Kent at Jerez would make him the first British rider to take three or more successive grand prix wins in any class since Barry Sheene won three successive 500cc GP races in 1977, and the first to do so in the lightweight-class since Dave Simmonds won seven successive races in 1969, the year he became 125cc world champion riding a Kawasaki.

  • Efren Vazquez finished second in the Moto3™ race at the Spanish Grand Prix last year – his first GP podium finish at the Jerez circuit.

  • Romano Fenati has won the Moto3™ race twice in Jerez during the last three years, both times after qualifying in 10th place on the grid.  In 2012 he won the wet Moto3™ race at Jerez by 36 seconds in only his second ever grand prix start.  He won again last year from Efren Vazquez and Alex Rins, with just 0.147 seconds covering the three riders at the chequered flag.

  • The last rider to win the lightweight-class grand prix at Jerez from pole position was Marco Simoncelli back in 2005.

  • German rider Philipp Oettl will celebrate his 19th birthday on race day in Spain.  Philipp’s father Peter was twice a podium finisher in Jerez: third in the 80cc race of 1989 and second in the 125cc race of 1994

Moto3, 2015, GRAN PREMIO bwin DE ESPAÑA, #StatAttack, #SpanishGP

Other updates you may be interested in ›