Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Who won the 2013 Jerez Moto2™ race from pole?

Who won the 2013 Jerez Moto2™ race from pole?

All of the vital information and statistics ahead of the Moto2™ race at the Gran Premio bwin de España in Jerez.

Johan Zarco’s win in Argentina sees the Frenchman four points clear at the top of the World Championship standings:

  • Championship leader Johann Zarco has had a single podium at Jerez; third in the 125cc race in 2011.  His best result at Jerez in the Moto2™ class is the eighth place finish he achieved last year.  Following his win in Argentina, Zarco could become the first French rider to win back-to-back intermediate-class grand prix races since Christian Sarron in 1984.

  • Alex Rins finished third in the Moto3™ race at the Spanish Grand Prix last year – his first GP podium finish at Jerez.  He qualified on pole for the Moto3™ race at Jerez in 2012 in just his second GP start and in the race finished fourth.  He was again on pole at Jerez in 2013 when he crashed out of the race.  He is the first Moto2™ rookie (other than in the first year of the class in 2010) to have two podium finishes in the opening three races of the year.

  • Two years ago in Jerez, Esteve Rabat making his 113th grand prix start, took his maiden GP win after qualifying on pole for the first time in his grand prix career.  Last year Rabat finished 4th at Jerez, one of just four occasions in 2014 that he did not stand on the podium.

  • Only once since the Moto2™ class debuted in 2010 has the Jerez race winner gone on to claim the world title; this was in 2010 itself, when Toni Elias picked up his first win of the season

  • At the Spanish Grand Prix last year, Jonas Folger became the youngest German rider to finish on the podium in the Moto2™/250cc class since Horst Kassner finished third in the 250cc Belgium GP in 1956 at the age of nineteen.  Folger ran wide on the opening lap in Argentina and then set a new Moto2™ lap record on his way to finishing in ninth place.

  • Mika Kallio won the Moto2™ race at Jerez last year from pole position.  He also won the 250cc race at Jerez in 2008 riding a KTM.

  • Dominique Aegerter finished second last year at Jerez, which was his best grand prix result before taking a win in Germany later in the year.

Moto2, 2015, GRAN PREMIO bwin DE ESPAÑA

Other updates you may be interested in ›