Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

BMW M Award returns for 2015

BMW M Award returns for 2015

The BMW M Award will be presented for the 13th time this year, with the winner receiving a very special, high-performance BMW M6.

Just like the points system for the races, riders at each Grand Prix weekend are awarded points relative to their positions in qualifying. Pole position is rewarded with 25 points, second place on the grid earns 20 points and third place scores 16 points – right down to one point for 15th. The rider with the most points at the end of the season wins the BMW M Award - and the car.

Valentino Rossi and Casey Stoner are the current record holders, each with three BMW M Awards to their name. In 2013, Marc Marquez was crowned the youngest ever winner of the BMW M Award and the first rider to receive this award in his first season at the pinnacle of motorcycle racing.

In 2014, Márquez won the BMW M Award for a second time, and was this time rewarded for his outstanding performance with a BMW M4 Coupé with an exclusive livery, courtesy of BMW Individual.

The BMW M Safety Cars are also a key pillar in the commitment of BMW M GmbH to the MotoGP™. This season, the BMW M4 Coupé (modified exclusively for this purpose) is joined by the BMW M3 and the BMW M6 Gran Coupé as Official Safety Cars. Two BMW S 1000 RRs will be in action as Safety Bikes.


Other updates you may be interested in ›