Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

First pole position riders decided at Portimao

First pole position riders decided at Portimao

The new FIM CEV Repsol season began officially this morning with the celebration of the first qualifying sessions.

The Algarve International Circuit is hosting the first round of the 2015 season that marks the advent of the Moto3™ Junior World Championship, the Moto2™ European Championship and the Superbike European Championship – accompanied, as ever, by the Kawasaki Ninja Cup. The day proved troublesome for the first riders this morning who encountered a wet track after overnight rain.

The Moto3™ Junior World Championship riders experienced their first two timed qualifying sessions, completing their first kilometers as aspiring junior World Championship riders. Joan Mir (SPA-Honda) led both sessions, setting a best time of 1:49.449. Alongside Mir, starting in second position tomorrow will be the Junior Team VR46 Riders Academy rider, Nicolò Bulega (ITA-KTM), who seems to enjoy the Portuguese circuit, having got onto the second step of the podium here last season. Closing the front row on the grid, the Dutchman Bo Bendsneyder (NED-Honda) will be defending the colors of the Dutch Racing Team. Behind them in the second row will be Albert Arenas (SPA-Husqvarna), Khairul Idham (MAL-TSR Honda) and Arón Canet (SPA-Honda).

Riding once again for the Targobank Motorsport team, Xavi Vierge (SPA-Tech3) took pole position in the Moto2™ European Championship, with a lap of 1:45.532, comfortably ahead of new rider to the category Luca Marini (ITA-Kalex). Starting in second slot, Marini will be accompanied by teammate Edgar Pons (SPA-Kalex), who completes the first row of the grid. On the second row will be Eric Granados (BRA-Kalex), Alan Techer (FRA-Tech3) and Steven Odeendal (RSA-Kalex). Marcos Ramírez (SPA-Yamaha) stood out in the Superstock 600 category.

The sun appeared briefly in the first qualifying session of the Superbike European Championship, in which excitement lasted right to the end of the final session. Carmelo Morales (SPA-Yamaha) snatched a last-gasp win ahead of the current series champion, Kenny Noyes (USA-Kawasaki), thanks to a superb 1:46.077 lap. Alongside Morales and Noyes on the front row will be Axel Maurin (FRA-Kawasaki). The best privateer rider was Ole Bjorn Plassen (NOR-Ducati).

Sunday’s race schedule is as follows:
11:00 Moto2™ (17 laps)
12:00 Superbike (17 laps)
13:00 Moto3™ (16 laps)
14:00 Moto2™ (17 laps)
15:00 Superbike (17 laps)
16:00 Kawasaki Z Cup (16 laps)

FIM CEV Repsol, 2015

Other updates you may be interested in ›