Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Which MotoGP™ manufacturer has the most wins at Le Mans?

Which MotoGP™ manufacturer has the most wins at Le Mans?

All of the vital MotoGP™ stats you need to know ahead of the Monster Energy Grand Prix de France at Le Mans.

The Le Mans circuit has one of the longest traditions of grand prix racing on the current MotoGP™ schedule. Below are some facts and figures about grand prix racing at Le Mans:

  • Le Mans has hosted a grand prix event on twenty seven previous occasions, including the Grand Prix “Vitesse du Mans” in 1991, which is the only year that two grand prix events have been held in France in the same year.

  • Le Mans was first used for a grand prix event in 1969, when the 500cc race was won by Giacomo Agostini, who lapped all the other riders in the race on his MV Agusta. 

  • This is the sixteenth successive year that the Le Mans circuit has been used for the MotoGP, starting in 2000.

  • Since the introduction of the four-stroke MotoGP formula in 2002, Honda have had seven wins at Le Mans, Yamaha have had five victories and Suzuki took the other win, in 2007 with Chris Vermeulen – Suzuki’s only GP victory in the four-stroke MotoGP era.

  • The best results for Ducati at the Le Mans circuit are second place finishes for Loris Capirossi in 2006 and Valentino Rossi in 2012.

  • The riders with the most victories at Le Mans are Jorge Lorenzo and Dani Pedrosa, who have each stood on the top step of the podium on four occasions at the French circuit. Lorenzo has had a single win in the 250cc class to add to his three MotoGP wins, Pedrosa has won at Le Mans once in the 125cc class, twice in 250cc and in 2013 he won for the first time in the MotoGP class.

  • There have been five GP wins at the Le Mans circuit by French riders: Jean Aureal won the 125cc race in 1969, Guy Bertin the 125cc race in 1979, Patrick Fernandez the 350cc race in 1979, Mike di Meglio the 125cc race in 2008 and Louis Rossi the Moto3 race in 2012.

  • In addition to Le Mans, there have been seven other circuits that have hosted the French GP (the figure in brackets is the number of times each circuit has hosted the French Grand Prix): Paul Ricard (13), Clermont-Ferrand (10), Nogaro (2), Reims (2), Rouen (2), Albi (1), Magny-Cours (1).

  • The best result by a French rider at Le Mans in the MotoGP class is 4th by Olivier Jacque in 2003.  The last French rider to score points in the MotoGP class at Le Mans is Randy de Puniet with a 7th place finish in 2010.


Other updates you may be interested in ›
French Revolution

5 years ago

French Revolution