Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

FIM CEV Repsol: Canet dominates to take first win

FIM CEV Repsol: Canet dominates to take first win

Arón Canet achieves a brilliant victory in Le Mans, ahead of Pawi and Bendsneyder.

The Moto3™ Junior World Championship race held today as part of the Monster Energy French Grand Prix began with all eyes on the sky in light of the unsettled weather forecast. The day was mostly cold, but thousands of fans warmed up the atmosphere from every corner of the Le Mans circuit.

The track was new today to the FIM CEV Repsol riders, who after being called at 08.30 to warm up had time not only to refine their settings, but also to enjoy the World Championship qualifying sessions, in which Fabio Quartararo and Jorge Navarro, current Moto3™ FIM CEV Repsol champion and runner-up, held sway, earning first and second place on the grid tomorrow.

A few hours later, the Moto3™ Junior World Championship race started but was interrupted by the red flag only a few moments later when a crash occurred involving numerous riders. Fortunately there were no serious injuries, although Tony Arbolino was taken to hospital for checks. The race was shortened to 12 laps and the grid reformed.

The lights signaled the restart and the earlier incident was forgotten as for twelve laps a series of attacks and counterattacks involving countless riders took place. The leadership kept changing under successive waves of attacks and the outcome was uncertain: Arón Canet (SPA-Honda) was determined to hold first place but Albert Arenas (SPA-Husqvarna) was equally determined to resist, while Nicolò Bulega (ITA-KTM) challenged hard and Lorenzo Dalla Porta (ITA-Husqvarna) had no intention of being left out…. And then Joan Mir (SPA-Honda) appeared! The Majorcan rider had made a memorable comeback from the twenty seventh position on the grid to take second position, while Arón Canet (SPA-Honda) hung on to the leading position. With five laps to go, Joan Mir (SPA-Honda) challenged boldly for the lead but then fell and lost his chance.

Meanwhile, the leading group was suffering: Albert Arenas (SPA-Husqvarna) was forced to retire, while Nicolò Bulega (ITA-KTM) and Lorenzo Dalla Porta (ITA-Husqvarna) ran out of steam and slipped back down the field. The last two laps brought new riders into the limelight to tussle for podium positions. With Arón Canet (SPA-Honda) still out in front, Khairul Idham Pawi (MAL-Honda), Sena Yamada (JPN-Honda) and Bo Bendsneyder (NED-Honda) battled right to the line. In the end the three flags flying over the podium were those of Spain, Malaysia and Holland.

The next round of the FIM CEV Repsol will take place at Barcelona-Catalunya Circuit on 20th and 21st June, where the third meeting of the season will be held.

FIM CEV Repsol, 2015

Other updates you may be interested in ›