Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

When did Mugello host its first motorcycle Grand Prix?

When did Mugello host its first motorcycle Grand Prix?

All of the vital MotoGP™ stats you need to know ahead of the Gran Premio d’Italia TIM at Mugello.

This is the 30th occasion that a GP has been held at the Mugello circuit, including twenty five times in the consecutive years starting with 1991. Below are some facts and stats about grand prix racing at Mugello:

  • The first time that Mugello hosted a grand prix event was in 1976. The 500cc race was won by Barry Sheene by the narrow margin of 0.1 sec from Phil Read, in a race lasting over 62 minutes. This was at a time when Suzuki riders dominated the premier-class; the first non-Suzuki rider home was Waerum Borge Nielsen in tenth place riding a Yamaha.

  • The layout of the Mugello circuit has remained basically the same since 1976 with the official track length of 5.245km remaining unchanged.

  • Yamaha have been the most successful manufacturer in the four-stroke MotoGP era at Mugello with a total of eight wins; five successive victories with Valentino Rossi in the years 2004 through to 2008, in addition to the wins with Lorenzo in 2011, 2012 & 2013. 

  • The win by Marc Marquez last year was the fourth for Honda in the MotoGP class at Mugello, and the first since 2010.

  • Ducati’s single win at Mugello was with Stoner in 2009, which is the last time that a Ducati rider has finished on the podium at the circuit.

  • The best results for Suzuki in the MotoGP era is 5th, achieved by John Hopkins in 2007 and Loris Capirossi in 2009.

  • Honda riders have taken pole at Mugello for the last five years. The last non-Honda pole was Jorge Lorenzo in 2009 on a Yamaha.

  • Ducati riders have twice started from pole at Mugello; Sete Gibernau in 2006 and Casey Stoner in 2007.

  • Valentino Rossi is the most successful rider across all the classes at Mugello, with a total of nine victories; one each in 125cc and 250cc classes to add to his seven successive MotoGP wins, the last of which came in 2008.

  • In the MotoGP era the only Italian to start from pole in the premier-class is Valentino Rossi, who has done so on four occasions; 2002, 2003, 2005 and 2008.  Rossi also started from pole for the final 500cc GP race to be held at Mugello in 2001.

  • Loris Capirossi is the only Italian rider other than Rossi to win in the premier-class at Mugello, the 500cc race in 2000 after a race long battle with his countrymen Biaggi and Rossi, both of whom crashed in the closing stages.

  • The MotoGP race at Mugello in 2004 is the shortest ever premier-class grand prix race. The race lasted just six laps, after the first attempt to run the race was stopped due to rain and then restarted for the remaining laps under the rain rules as they stood at that time.

  • Italy, The Netherlands and Great Britain are the only three countries that have hosted a motorcycle grand prix event in each year since the motorcycling world championship series started in 1949.


MotoGP, 2015, GRAN PREMIO D'ITALIA TIM, #StatAttack, #ItalianGP

Other updates you may be interested in ›
Moto2™ riders ready to hunt Zarco

7 years ago

Moto2™ riders ready to hunt Zarco