Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Who finished last years #CatalanGP Moto2™ race in third?

Who finished last years #CatalanGP Moto2™ race in third?

All of the vital Moto2™ facts and information you need to impress your friends ahead of the Gran Premi Monster Energy de Catalunya.

Here are some interesting facts about the Moto2™ race at the Circuit de Barcelona:

  • The five Moto2™ races that have taken place at the Catalunya circuit have resulted in five different winners: 2010 – Yuki Takahashi, 2011 – Stefan Bradl, 2012 – Andrea Iannone, 2013 – Pol Espargaro, 2014 – Tito Rabat.

  • In addition to Rabat in the Moto2™ class last year, the only other GP winners currently competing full time in the Moto2™ class who have won previously at Catalunya (both in the Moto3™ class) are Luis Salom in 2013 and Alex Marquez in 2014.

  • Johan Zarco finished third last year in the Moto2™ race in Catalunya – his first podium finish at the circuit. Zarco was also the first rider to cross the finishing line in the 125cc race in 2011, but was given a 20 second penalty for an illegal passing move that demoted him to sixth. Zarco has been on the podium at the last five races; he is the first French rider to finish on the podium in five or more successive intermediate-class grand prix races since Olivier Jacque had nine successive podium finishes in 2000 on his way to winning the 250cc world title.

  • Tito Rabat has finished on the podium for the last two years at the Catalan GP: he qualified on pole and won the race last year, and he finished second in 2013, just 0.081 seconds behind Pol Espargaro after a race long battle. Rabat’s victory at Mugello was his first win since the San Marino Grand Prix last year and the first win by a reigning world champion in the intermediate-class since Marco Simoncelli won the 250cc race at Philip Island in 2009.

  • Tom Luthi took his first ever GP podium finish at the Catalunya circuit, second in the 125cc class in 2003. He has finished on the podium three times in the Moto2™ class in Catalunya: second in 2010 and 2012 and third in 2013.  Last year he was fifth in Catalunya after losing two places on the final lap. Luthi’s crash at Mugello was the first time that he had failed to score points since he crashed in Indianapolis last year.

  • Alex Rins’ second place finish in the Moto3™ race two years ago is the only occasion he has completed a GP race at the Catalunya circuit.

  • Dominique Aegerters’s third place finish at Mugello was his first podium finish since he was third in Indianapolis last year.

  • Mika Kallio has had one podium finish from his thirteen starts across the three GP class at Catalunya – third in the 125cc race in 2005.  He finished 4th in the Moto2™ race in Catalunya last year, which is his best result in the class at this circuit.

  • Moto2™ rookie Jesko Raffin celebrates his 19th birthday on the first day of practice at the Catalunya Grand Prix.

  • Azlan Shah finished 15th at the Italian GP to score his first grand prix point. He is only the third rider from Malaysia to score points in the intermediate-class of grand prix racing, along with current Moto2™ rider Hafizh Syahrin, and Shahrol Yuzy who competed in the 250cc class between 2000 and 2002.

The Gran Premi Monster Energy de Catalunya Moto2™ on-track action kicks off with FP1 on Friday at 10:55am local time in Barcelona.



Other updates you may be interested in ›