Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Which current Moto2™ riders have won at Assen before?

Which current Moto2™ riders have won at Assen before?

All of the vital Moto2™ facts and information you need to impress your friends ahead of the Motul TT Assen.

Here are some interesting facts about the Moto2™ race at the TT Circuit Assen:

  • Johann Zarco finished fourth in the Moto2™ race at the Dutch TT last year – his best result from six grand prix starts at the Assen circuit.  Since taking the lead in the Moto2™ championship standings with a win in Argentina, Zarco has increased his lead in the championship at each of the subsequent races.

  • Thomas Luthi’s second place finish at Assen in 2008 was his first podium finish at the Dutch TT and his best ever result in the 250cc class. He has had one podium finish in the Moto2™ class at the Dutch TT – third in 2010.

  • Anthony West’s two grand prix wins have both been at the Dutch TT – the 250cc race in 2003 and the Moto2™ race last year, both of which took place in wet conditions.  These two wins came exactly eleven years apart.

  • Tito Rabat’s best result at the Dutch TT is fourth in the Moto2™ race in 2012.  Assen is one of only two circuits on the current grand prix schedule where Rabat has not had a podium finish in the Moto2™ class, along with the Sachsenring. Rabat crashed on the sighting-lap last year, but was able to take up his pole position after repairs to the bike due to a delayed start because of a sudden heavy rain shower.

  • Sam Lowes crashed out of the Moto2™ race at Assen last year, on the ninth lap when in second place; he re-started but crashed again before the end of the lap, ending his race.  Lowes won the World Supersport race in 2013 on his way to taking the world title.

  • Simone Corsi qualified on pole and finished third in the 125cc class at the Dutch TT in 2008 – his only podium finish at the Assen circuit. Corsi crashed at Assen last year when leading the Moto2™ race by ten seconds; he re-started to finish 13th.

  • Alex Rins has finished on the podium in the Moto3™ class for the last two years at Assen: third in 2013 and second last year.

  • Mika Kallio won the 125cc race from pole position at the Dutch TT back in 2006.  He finished third in the Moto2™ race last year – his first podium at Assen since 2006.

  • Past winners at the Dutch TT who are currently competing in the Moto2™ class, in addition to West and Kallio mentioned above, are: Alex Marquez (Moto3™/2014) and Luis Salom (Moto3™/2013).


Moto2, 2015, MOTUL TT ASSEN, #StatAttack

Other updates you may be interested in ›
Off-Track: #CatalanGP

5 years ago