Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Simeón takes first ever Moto2™ win

Simeón takes first ever Moto2™ win

The Belgian rider claims his first ever victory in his sixth Moto2 season.

Johann Zarco (Ajo Motorsport) finished in second place, followed by Álex Rins (Páginas Amarillas HP 40) in third.

Zarco started from pole for the third consecutive race, but the Frenchman dropped down to 3rd after turn 1, as Xavier Simeón (Federal Oil Gresini Moto2) started as he meant to go on, firing off the line to push up in to second. Franco Morbidelli (Italtrans Racing Team) took the lead through turn 1, but Zarco quickly regained the lead.

The entire Moto2 grid opted to use the medium front tyre. However with Morbidelli choosing a softer rear tyre than Zarco, the Italtrans Racing Team rider was able to move in to second and keep the pressure on Zarco early in the race, but he dropped back in the second half as the tyre began to go off. As a result he was overtaken by Xavier Simeón at turn 12 with 9 laps to go, as Simeón started his push to catch Zarco which resulted in Simeón passing Zarco with 4 laps left to go.

Simeón held off Zarco to take the win. He was overjoyed to claim a long overdue first victory, also making him the first Belgian to win since 1983. He said: "I made a good race and a good pace, I was confident because my bike was very good all weekend. A lot of times in the past I've started from the first row but I didn't take the opportunity to get on the podium, so this time I thought ok, I'll take it."

Tito Rabat (Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS) didn't have so much luck today. On the last lap he running in 3rd place, only to be taken out by Morbidelli on turn 13 - the last corner - after the Italian came in too hot in a final attempt to get on the podium. Neither rider finished the race.

After the race Zarco congratulated the amazing performance of the Belgian, but came away feeling like the real winner today. Between his 2nd place finish and Rabat's crash, his championship lead is more secure than ever: "I stayed close to him planning something for the last corner, but he was really constant and strong, he did well to catch me and win. It’s bad for Tito, but at the end I am also a winner today because my advantage in the championship is bigger - the target was reached and I’m happy.”

Simone Corsi (Athiná Forward Racing) finished in 4th place, ahead of Briton Sam Lowes (Speed Up Racing) and Thomas Luthi (Derendinger Racing Intewetten) in 5th and 6th respectively.

Takaaki Nakagami (Idemitsu Honda Team Asia), Lorenzo Baldassarri (Athiná Forward Racing), Julián Simón (QMMF Racing Team) and Dominique Aegerter (Technomag Racing Interwetten) complete the top 10.

Click here for the full Moto2 Race results.

Moto2, 2015, GoPro MOTORRAD GRAND PRIX DEUTSCHLAND, RAC, Xavier Simeon, Johann Zarco, Alex Rins, Ajo Motorsport, Paginas Amarillas HP 40, Federal Oil Gresini Moto2

Other updates you may be interested in ›