Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Navarro takes maiden Moto3™ pole

Navarro takes maiden Moto3™ pole

Jorge Navarro smashes pole record to finish over 0.5s ahead of Hanika in second, with Britain’s Danny Kent completing the front row.

Estrella Galicia 0,0’s Navarro left it until the last lap of the session to set a 2’12.440 to obliterate the previous pole record (Alex Rins – 2’13.112 – 2013) in ideal conditions at Silverstone.

Navarro finished 0.539s ahead of Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Karel Hanika to claim his first pole position in Moto3™ and follows on from his career best result of fifth last time out in Brno. Hanika took advantage of a tow from the Spaniard to finish in second and start from the front row for the third time in five races.

Leopard Racing’s Danny Kent (+0.604s) normally prefers to set his flying laps on his own, but even the man leading the Moto3™ standings found himself searching for a tow. With three long straights at Silverstone the slipstream can be worth up to a second and the final moments of the session saw an intriguing game of cat and mouse develop between the top riders. Kent had led for most of the session but could not find anyone to follow in the frantic final moments and had to settle for third, completing the front row.

Kent’s teammate Efren Vazquez (+0.684s) will start from the head of the second row, ahead of RBA Racing Team’s Isaac Viñales (+0.704s). Viñales was announced as a permanent replacement for Niklas Ajo in the team after impressing while substituting for the injured Ana Carrasco recently.

SAXOPRINT RTG’s Alexis Masbou (+0.1.006s) completes the second row ahead of the man second in the championship standings, Enea Bastianini (Gresini Racing Team Moto3).

Romano Fenati (Sky Racing Team VR46) was languishing down in 21st with minutes remaining before he improved to end the session in eighth with the Red Bull KTM Ajo duo of Miguel Oliveira and Brad Binder completing the top ten.

Scotsman John McPhee (SAXOPRINT RTG) finished in 12th, with Maria Herrera (Husqvarna Factory Laglisse) in 14th ahead of the leading Mapfre Team Mahindra of Francesco Bagnaia in 15th.

British wildcards Taz Taylor (RS Racing) and Luke Hedger (FPW Racing) will start from the back of the grid in 35th and 36th respectively.

Check out the full Moto3™ Qualifying results, the 17-lap race is scheduled for 14:30 local time on Sunday.

Moto3, 2015, OCTO BRITISH GRAND PRIX, QP, Danny Kent, Karel Hanika, Jorge Navarro, Estrella Galicia 0,0

Other updates you may be interested in ›