Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Who has been the most successful MotoGP™ rider at Misano?

Who has been the most successful MotoGP™ rider at Misano?

Take a look ahead to the Gran Premio TIM di San Marino e della Riviera di Rimini with a smorgasbord of all the stats you need.

This is the 9th year in a row that Misano has hosted the San Marino GP. Below are some facts and statistics related to this event:

  • The first grand prix event to take place at Misano was in 1980; the 500cc race was over 40 laps of the circuit that measured 3.448 km and ran in an anti-clockwise direction and was won by Kenny Roberts.

  • The Misano circuit hosted a GP event for a total of ten occasions between the years of 1980 and 1993.

  • Misano did not have a grand prix event for thirteen years following the accident that ended the career of Wayne Rainey in 1993.

  • When GP racing returned to Misano in 2007, it was on a much revised 4.18 km circuit running in the opposite direction to the earlier layout.

  • Yamaha have been the most successful manufacturer in MotoGP™ since the grand prix series returned to Misano in 2007 with six victories. Both Ducati and Honda have had a single MotoGP™ win at the Misano circuit during this period.

  • Misano is the only current grand prix circuits where Honda have not taken a single win in the MotoGP™ class in the last four seasons.

  • The most successful rider at Misano since racing returned to the circuit in 2007 is Jorge Lorenzo, with four victories: the 250cc GP in 2007 and in MotoGP™ for the successive years from 2011 to 2013.

  • Dani Pedrosa’s victory in 2010 is the last time that the MotoGP™ race at Misano was won by a rider starting from pole position.

  • Misano is one of just three circuits where Marc Marquez has not had a win in the MotoGP™ class, along with Motegi and Phillip Island.

  • There have been seventeen previous San Marino Grand Prix events. The first San Marino Grand Prix was held at Imola in 1981. Three different circuits have hosted the San Marino Grand Prix – Imola twice (1981 & 1983), Mugello four times (1982, 84, 91 and 93) and Misano on eleven occasions (1985, 86, 87 and from 2007 onwards).

  • Valentino Rossi’s win at Misano last year ended a sequence of 23 successive MotoGP™ wins by Spanish riders (Marc Marquez – 16, Jorge Lorenzo – 5, Dani Pedrosa – 2), just five short of the all-time record for successive wins in the premier-class of GP racing set by riders from the USA across the 1982/83/84/85 seasons (Freddie Spencer – 13, Kenny Roberts – 6, Eddie Lawson – 5, Randy Mamola – 4).

  • The first two riders across the line in all three of the races at Misano last year were team-mates (MotoGP: Rossi and Lorenzo - Movistar Yamaha MotoGP, Moto2: Rabat and Kallio - Marc VDS Racing Team, Moto3: Rins and Marquez - Estrella Galicia 0,0).  The last time that this had occurred was at the Dutch TT in 1996, when the first two riders in each race were:- 500cc: Mick Doohan and Alex Criville - Repsol Honda, 250cc: Ralf Waldmann and Jurgen Fuchs - HB Honda Germany, 125cc: Emilio Alzamora and Ivan Goi - Cepsa EffeUno Matteoni.


Other updates you may be interested in ›
Warren Willing passes away

4 years ago

Warren Willing passes away
#SanMarinoGP in numbers

4 years ago

#SanMarinoGP in numbers