Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

#StatAttack: Which current Moto2™ riders have won at Aragon?

#StatAttack: Which current Moto2™ riders have won at Aragon?

All of the most useful Moto2™ facts and figures you need ahead of the Gran Premio Movistar de Aragon.

This is the 6th time that Motorland Aragon has hosted a GP event:

  • None of the riders currently competing in the Moto2™ class have won an intermediate-class grand prix at the Aragon circuit.

  • Johann Zarco has twice finished on the podium at the Aragon Grand Prix – second in the 125cc race in 2011 and third in the Moto2™ race last year. Since taking the lead in the Moto2™ championship standings with a win in Argentina, Zarco has increased his lead in the championship at each of the subsequent races. He has won the last three Moto2™ races and if he wins again in Aragon he will equal the record for most successive wins in the Moto2™ class set by Toni Elias in 2010.

  • Tito Rabat has finished second in the Moto2™ race in Aragon for the last two years.

  • Alex Rins has started from pole in the Moto3™ class at Aragon for the last two years. Two years ago he won the Moto3™ race at Aragon after a race long battle with Maverick Viñales, last year he made a mistake when battling for the lead on the 11th lap and dropped back to seventh place before recovering to finish fourth.

  • Alex Marquez has finished on the podium for the last two years in the Moto3™ race in Aragon: second last year and third in 2013.

  • Tom Luthi set the fastest lap of the Moto2™ race last year at Aragon, on his way to finishing in fourth place – his best ever result at the circuit.

  • Sam Lowes finished ninth at Aragon last year after qualifying down in 20th place on the grid. Lowes won the world Supersport race at Aragon in 2012.

  • In addition to Alex Rins mentioned above, the only other rider currently competing in Moto2™ who has won a grand prix at the Aragon circuit is Luis Salom, who won the Moto3™ race there in 2012.

  • Jonas Folger has had a single podium finish at Aragon; third in the Moto3™ race in 2012, after qualifying on pole position for the first time in his grand prix career.

  • Takaaki Nakagami’s third place finish in the Moto2™ race at Misano is the first podium by a Japanese rider in any class of grand prix racing since Nakagami himself finished second at the same circuit two years ago.


Moto2, 2015, GRAN PREMIO MOVISTAR DE ARAGÓN, #StatAttack, #AragonGP

Other updates you may be interested in ›