Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

#StatAttack: Who won the first MotoGP™ race at Aragon?

#StatAttack: Who won the first MotoGP™ race at Aragon?

Take a look ahead to the Gran Premio Movistar de Aragon with a smorgasbord of all the stats you need.

This is the 6th time that Motorland Aragon has hosted a GP event:

  • Aragon first hosted a grand prix in 2010, when it became the sixth different circuit that has been used for grand prix racing in Spain. The other circuits that have been used in Spain are: Jerez, Catalunya, Jarama, Montjuich and Valencia.

  • Casey Stoner won the first MotoGP™ race at Aragon in 2010 on a Ducati. In each of the following three years Honda riders won the race. Last year Yamaha won at Aragon for the first time.

  • Spanish riders have had great success across all three GP classes at the Aragon circuit, winning eleven of the fifteen GP races that have taken place. The only non-Spanish riders to have won a grand prix at the circuit are: Casey Stoner (MotoGP™ in 2010 & 2011), Andrea Iannone (Moto2™ race in 2010) and Romano Fenati (Moto3™ in 2014).

  • The MotoGP™ race at Aragon last year was the 800th race in the premier-class of grand prix racing

  • Spanish riders have won the last thirteen MotoGP™ races on Spanish soil. The last non-Spanish rider to win a MotoGP™ race in Spain was Casey Stoner at Jerez in 2012.

  • Maverick Viñales won the Moto2™ race at Aragon last year after qualifying on pole for the only occasion during his one season in the intermediate-class of grand prix racing.

  • Aragon is one of just two circuits on the current grand prix schedule, along with Austin, where Valentino Rossi has not had a MotoGP™ victory.



MotoGP, 2015, GRAN PREMIO MOVISTAR DE ARAGÓN, #StatAttack, #AragonGP

Other updates you may be interested in ›