Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Zarco given first title chance at Aragon GP

Zarco given first title chance at Aragon GP

Having continued to extend his Moto2™ World Championship lead, Johann Zarco has his first chance to clinch the title.

An exciting San Marino GP saw Ajo Motorsport’s Johann Zarco gifted the lead as Alex Rins (Paginas Amarillas HP 40) clashed with Dominique Aegerter (Technomag Racing Interwetten) early in the race. The Frenchman would go on to take a dominant victory, since taking the lead of the standings in Argentina Zarco has extended his advantage at each round. Having won the last three successive races, Zarco could equal Toni Elias’ record of most successive wins in the Moto2™ class set in 2010.

Along with breaking yet more records, Zarco has his first chance to claim the 2015 Moto2™ World Championship crown. For the Frenchman to become champion he must outscore Tito Rabat (Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS Racing) by at least seven points and ensure he does not lose more than ten points to Rins, who still has a mathematical chance to win the title. A full list of results that would secure Zarco the title can be found here.

Aragon will also host the 100th Moto2™ race since the class replaced the 250cc class in 2010. Of all the riders in the intermediate class, Aegerter is the only rider to have participated in the previous 99 races. There have been a total of 26 different winners, 2015 championship challenger Rabat having taken 11 wins throughout his Moto2™ career. Rabat’s form at Aragon is impressive, having claimed two second place finishes in his last two visits to Aragon. No doubt Zarco will have his work cut out for him to secure the title.

The San Marino GP did not go to plan for Alex Rins, the Moto2™ rookie taking out Aegerter early in the race and then receiving a black flag for battling with the leading riders despite being a lap down. Even after failing to score, he still has a chance of taking the Moto2™ title but will have to win the Gran Premio Movistar de Aragón to keep his hopes alive. Twice Rins has started from pole at Aragon in the Moto3™ class.

There have also been several changes in rider line up as Mika Kallio joins the QMMF Racing Team in place of Australian Anthony West. In turn Kallio’s seat has been filled by Edgar Pons for the remainder of the season. Franco Morbidelli (Italtrans Racing Team) will again miss the race due to his broken leg.


Other updates you may be interested in ›