Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Bastianini makes it back-to-back Moto3™ pole positions

Bastianini makes it back-to-back Moto3™ pole positions

Enea Bastianini obliterated the Pole Record to take his fourth pole position of the season ahead of Miguel Oliveira and Danny Kent.

Gresini Racing Team Moto3’s Bastianini set a 1’57.755 to record the fastest ever Moto3™ lap around the MotorLand Aragon circuit on his way to taking pole at the Gran Premio Movistar de Aragón. He beat both Alex Rins’ Pole Record (1’58.318) and Juanfran Guevara’s outright Fastest Lap record (1’57.930) in the process.

The 17-year-old Italian, who took his maiden Moto3™ victory last time out at Misano, ended the session 0.200s ahead of his nearest rival Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Miguel Oliveira. Oliveira secured his fifth front row start of 2015 in a session where the slipstream played a major role, especially down the long back straight.

Leopard Racing’s Kent (+0.201s), who has a 55-point lead over Bastianini in the standings, left it late to secure his 11th front row start of the season. The British rider was just a further one-thousandth of a second back from Oliveira in third as he set his fastest time on his last lap.

Mapfre Team Mahindra’s Jorge Martin (+0.657s) put in his best qualifying performance of the season to start from the front of the second row in fourth. Jorge Navarro (+0.689s) on the Estrella Galicia 0,0 Honda was fifth fastest after recovering from the crash that ended his participation in the San Marino GP weekend.

Ongetta-Rivacold’s Niccolo Antonelli finished in sixth (+0.710s), ahead of Alexis Masbou (SAXOPRINT RTG) and the man who had earlier topped FP3, Efren Vazquez (Leopard Racing).

Phillip Oettl (Schedl GP Racing) and Romano Fenati (Sky Racing Team VR46) completed the top ten. Fenati won last year’s race at Aragon from 13th on the grid.

Scotsman John McPhee (SAXOPRINT RTG) will start from 14th on the grid. Sena Yamada is filling in for the injured Fabio Quartararo and qualified in 23rd. Quartararo, while not riding, took the chance to announce that he will make the switch to the Leopard Racing team in 2016.

Andrea Locatelli (Gresini Racing Team Moto3) took no part in Saturday’s action and will miss the rest of the weekend due to the pain from the sacrum fracture he suffered at Misano.

Check out the full Moto3™ Qualifying results; the 20-lap starts at 11:00am local time on Sunday.

Moto3, 2015, GRAN PREMIO MOVISTAR DE ARAGÓN, QP, Miguel Oliveira, Enea Bastianini, Danny Kent, Gresini Racing Team Moto3

Other updates you may be interested in ›