Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

#AragonGP: MotoGP™ Race Guide

#AragonGP: MotoGP™ Race Guide

All of the vitals stats any fan needs to know in a bite-sized portion ahead of the Gran Premio Movistar de Aragón.

The 23-lap race at MotorLand Aragon kicks off at 14:00 local time:

  • Marc Marquez starts from pole in Aragon for the third successive year. A victory for Marquez would make him the youngest ever rider to reach the milestone of 50 grand prix wins.

  • Jorge Lorenzo starts from the front row of the grid for the eleventh time this year. Lorenzo has been on the podium in Aragon for the last four years, including a race victory last year.

  • Andrea Iannone starts from third place on the grid, his first front row start since he was on pole at Mugello, which was also the last time he finished on the podium, in second place.

  • Pol Espargaro heads the second row of the grid – his best qualifying result since he was fourth fastest qualifier at Jerez. Espargaro has won at Aragon in both of the smaller classes of grand prix racing, the 125cc race in 2010 and the Moto2™ race in 2012.

  • Dani Pedrosa is in fifth place on the grid, the first time that he has not qualified on the front row at the Aragon circuit.

  • In sixth place on the grid is Valentino Rossi at one of only two current circuits, along with COTA, where he has not had a grand prix win.

  • The highest placed Suzuki rider on the grid is Aleix Espargaro at the head of the third row – his best qualifying result since the German Grand Prix.

  • In eighth place on the grid is Cal Crutchlow, the third place finisher last year in Aragon – his only podium finish on the Ducati.

  • In the final place on the third row is Danilo Petrucci, who has been the first Ducati rider across the line at the last two races.

  • Bradley Smith starts the race from tenth place on the grid – his worst qualifying performance since the Dutch TT.

  • The top qualifier in the Open Class, for the first time, is Eugene Laverty, in fifteenth place on the grid.

  • In twenty-first place on the grid is Alvaro Bautista who is making his 100th start in the MotoGP™ class.


Other updates you may be interested in ›