Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

#StatAttack: How many times has Kent won at Motegi?

#StatAttack: How many times has Kent won at Motegi?

All of the crucial Moto3™ stats and figures you need to impress your friends ahead of the Motul Grand Prix of Japan.

The Motegi circuit was first added to the grand prix schedule in 1999 and has hosted a GP event every year since.  Below are some facts and figures about grand prix racing at Motegi:

  • Danny Kent took his first ever Moto3™ grand prix victory at Motegi in 2012, having qualified on pole for the first time. He missed the Moto2™ race at Motegi in 2013 after he crashed in morning warm-up and broke a collarbone, after qualifying in a season’s best of ninth place on the grid. He qualified on pole again for the Moto3™ race at Motegi last year and then finished sixth after leading the race in the early stages and starting the last lap in second place.

  • Danny Kent is the only rider currently competing in the Moto3™ class who has won a grand prix race at the Motegi circuit.

  • Enea Bastianini finished 8th last year at Motegi, from 15th place on the grid. Bastianini has been on pole at the last two races; another pole for him at Motegi would make him the first Italian rider to take three successive poles in the lightweight-class of GP racing since Mattia Pasini in 2007.

  • Miguel Oliveira’s best result at Motegi is fourth in 2013 after qualifying down in 18th place on the grid. Last year he had a big highside crash with nine laps remaining when battling in the leading group of riders.

  • Efren Vazquez finished second in the Moto3™ race at Motegi last year after qualifying down in fourteenth place on the grid.

  • John McPhee finished fourth last year at the Japanese grand prix, which was his best ever result before he finished second at Indianapolis earlier this year.

Moto3, 2015, MOTUL GRAND PRIX OF JAPAN, #StatAttack, #JapaneseGP

Other updates you may be interested in ›