Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

#StatAttack: Who won last years Moto2™ race at Motegi?

#StatAttack: Who won last years Moto2™ race at Motegi?

All of the most useful Moto2™ facts and figures you need ahead of the Motul Grand Prix of Japan.

The Motegi circuit was first added to the grand prix schedule in 1999 and has hosted a GP event every year since.  Below are some facts and figures about grand prix racing at Motegi:

  • Johann Zarco won the 125cc race in Japan in 2011 from pole position – this was his first victory in grand prix racing. Zarco finished 4th last year at Motegi, his best result from three appearances in the Moto2™ class at the circuit.

  • Alex Rins finished fourth in the Moto3™ race at Motegi in his rookie season in 2012. In 2013 he qualified on pole at Motegi, then crashed at the final corner on lap sixteen when battling for a podium finish. Last year he finished 10th at Motegi, after running wide at the first corner and finishing the first lap down in 21st place.

  • Tito Rabat has twice finished on the podium at Motegi in the last three years – third place in both 2012 and last year. He also qualified on pole at the Japanese grand prix last year.

  • Tom Luthi has finished on the podium at Motegi for the last two years; third in 2013 and a race victory last year. Last year he qualified in second place on the grid at Motegi, then got the holeshot and led the race from start to finish.

  • Mika Kallio had three successive wins at the Motegi circuit; the 125cc race in both 2005 and 2006, and the 250cc race in 2007. He had his first Moto2™ pole two years ago at Motegi and went on to finish second in the race.

  • Hafizh Syahrin finished seventh in Aragon and Azlan Shah was 14th – the first time that two Malaysian riders have scored points in the same race in the intermediate-class of grand prix racing.


Other updates you may be interested in ›