Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

McPhee claims maiden Moto3™ pole after Kent penalty

McPhee claims maiden Moto3™ pole after Kent penalty

Scotsman John McPhee took his first ever Moto3™ pole position ahead of Miguel Oliveira and Efren Vazquez after Kent hit with penalty.

SAXOPRINT RTG’s McPhee claimed pole position after championship leader Kent was hit with a six-place grid penalty for riding slowly on the racing line in FP3. Kent finished on top of the timesheets with a 1’36.180, but was punished for an infringement in Saturday morning’s Free Practice 3 session and will have to start from seventh.

McPhee (+0.360s) set a 1’36.540 in glorious conditions at Phillip Island and will start from pole for the first time in his career after Kent’s penalty. Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Miguel Oliveira (+0.426s) was in second as the Portuguese rider claimed his sixth front row start of 2015.

Kent’s Leopard Racing teammate Efren Vazquez (+0.513s) will start from third in what is his first front row start of the season. Estrella Galicia 0,0 Jorge Navarro (+0.525s) qualified in fourth ahead of the pole man from Motegi, Sky Racing Team VR46’s Romano Fenati (+0.642s) in fifth.

RW Racing GP’s Livio Loi (+0.762s) will complete the second row in sixth, with Kent relegated to seventh. Jakub Kornfeil (Drive M7 SIC), Brad Binder (Red Bull KTM Ajo) and Isaac Viñales (RAB Racing Team) completed the top ten.

Fabio Quartararo (Estrella Galicia 0,0) will start from 22nd on the grid on his return from injury, after receiving a three-place penalty from Race Direction for riding slowly on the racing line in FP1.

There was a nasty crash for Remy Gardner (29th), Niccolo Antonelli (17th) and Francesco Bagnaia (30th) at Turn 6 with ten minutes gone in the session, while Kent’s main title rival Enea Bastianini will start from 29th after struggling throughout the weekend.

Leopard Racing’s Joan Mir impressed on his debut as a substitute for the injured Hiroki Ono and will start the race from 18th after also receiving a three-place grid penalty from Race Direction.

Check out the full Moto3™ qualifying results and the updated starting grid; the 23-lap race begins at 13:00 local time on Sunday.

Moto3, 2015, PRAMAC AUSTRALIAN MOTORCYCLE GRAND PRIX, QP, Miguel Oliveira, John McPhee, Efren Vazquez, SAXOPRINT RTG

Other updates you may be interested in ›