Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

#Australian GP in numbers

#Australian GP in numbers

Get yourself into the mood for the Pramac Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix with these number related facts.

200 – Mike di Meglio is scheduled to make his 200th grand prix start at Phillip Island this weekend. He will be just the second French rider, alongside Randy de Puniet, to make 200 grand prix starts. Di Meglio is the fourth youngest rider to reach the milestone of 200 GP starts, after Jorge Lorenzo, Andrea Dovizioso and Dani Pedrosa.

94 – Jorge Lorenzo’s third place finish at Motegi was the 94th time he has stood on the podium in the MotoGP™ class. This is just one less premier-class podium than five times 500cc world champion Mick Doohan. Only two riders have stood on the podium in the premier-class more often that Lorenzo and Doohan: Valentino Rossi with 174 podium finishes in the top class and Dani Pedrosa with 98.

57 – Yamaha lead the MotoGP™ Constructors Championship by 57 points and will clinch the title (for the first time since 2010) in Australia if any of their riders finish either first or second.

50 – Dani Pedrosa’s win at Motegi was the 50th time in grand prix racing that he has stood on the top step of the podium. He is the eighth rider to reach the milestone of 50 grand prix victories across all classes, along with: Giacomo Agostini (122 GP wins), Valentino Rossi (112), Angel Nieto (90), Mike Hailwood (72), Jorge Lorenzo (60), Mick Doohan (54) and Phil Read (52).

14 – With his win in Motegi, Dani Pedrosa has now won at least one grand prix race in each of the last fourteen seasons, starting with 2002 when he took his maiden GP win in the 125cc race at Assen. The only rider in the 67 year history of grand prix racing who has a longer run of successive years with at least one GP win is Valentino Rossi, who had at least one GP win in the fifteen years from 1996 through to 2010.

13 – New Moto2™ world champion Johann Zarco has finished on the podium thirteen times so far in 2015 and he needs just one more top three finish in the remaining three races to equal the record of 14 podiums in a season in the intermediate-class (Moto2™/250cc), held jointly by Marc Marquez (2012) and Tito Rabat (2014).

10 – By taking the win in Motegi, Dani Pedrosa has maintained his record of winning at least once in all ten seasons since he moved up to the MotoGP™ class in 2006. Only two riders have won in more successive seasons in the premier-class than Pedrosa; Giacomo Agostini won in twelve successive years (1965 to 1976) and Valentino Rossi who had eleven successive years with at least one premier-class win (2000 to 2010).

8 – Johann Zarco’s victory in Motegi was the eighth time he has stood on the top step of a grand prix podium (7 x Moto2™, 1 x 125cc). This makes him the most successful French rider of all-time in terms of grand prix victories, taking the record from Christian Sarron (1 x 500cc, 6 x 250cc wins), Olivier Jacque (7 x 250cc wins) and Arnaud Vincent (7 x 125cc wins).

2 – The Moto2™ race at Motegi resulted in Jonas Folger finishing second and Sandro Cortese third. This is the first time that two German riders have stood on a podium together in the intermediate-class of grand prix racing since the Rio Grand Prix of 1996 when Ralf Waldmann was second and Jurgen Fuchs third.

2 – Phillip Island is one of just two circuits where Marc Marquez has not had a win in the MotoGP™ class, along with Motegi.

2 – Hector Barbera had his best result of the year at Motegi, finishing in ninth place, which moves him above Loris Baz in the battle for leading Open Class rider, with just two points separating them.

2 – Following Andrea Iannone’s retirement from the race at Motegi with technical problems, there are now just two riders in the MotoGP™ class who have scored points at every race in 2015: Valentino Rossi and Bradley Smith.

0.242 seconds - The Moto3™ race in Australia last year was another fantastic battle with the first six riders crossing the line within a quarter of a second of the race winner. This set a new record for the closest top six finish of all-time.



Other updates you may be interested in ›