Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

#StatAttack: When was the first Malaysian GP held?

#StatAttack: When was the first Malaysian GP held?

Take a look ahead to the Shell Malaysia Motorcycle Grand Prix with a plethora of all the stats you need.

This is the 25th motorcycle grand prix event to be held in Malaysia and below are some facts and statistics about GP racing in Malaysia:

  • The first Malaysian Grand Prix was held in 1991 and has taken place every year since, with three different venues having been used; Shah Alam, Johor and Sepang.

  • The first Malaysian Grand Prix held at the Shah Alam circuit in 1991 saw a debut win in the premier-class for John Kocinski riding a Yamaha.  Italian riders dominated the smaller classes with Luca Cadalora (Honda) winning the 250cc race and Loris Capirossi (Honda) in the 125cc class.

  • The Shah Alam circuit hosted the event for a total of seven years before the Malaysian GP went to Johor for a single year in 1998.  The first Malaysian GP to be held at Sepang was in 1999 and this will be the 17th time that Sepang has hosted the event.

  • Yamaha have been the most successful manufacturer in the MotoGP™ class at Sepang with five victories, the last of which was in 2010 with Valentino Rossi.

  • Honda have had four MotoGP™ wins at the Sepang circuit, including the last three years.

  • Ducati have taken three MotoGP™ victories in Sepang, the last being in 2009 with Casey Stoner. Since Stoner’s win in 2009 the best result for Ducati at Sepang is fourth in 2012 with Nicky Hayden.

  • The best result for Suzuki at Sepang in the MotoGP™ era is fifth in 2010 with Alvaro Bautista.

  • The most successful rider at the Sepang circuit is Valentino Rossi with six GP wins (1 x 500cc, 5 x MotoGP™).  The next most successful, with four wins each, are: Casey Stoner (1 x 125cc, 1 x 250cc, 2 x MotoGP™) and Dani Pedrosa (1 x 125cc, 1 x 250cc, 2 x MotoGP™).

  • The only rider to win the MotoGP™ race at Sepang and to lead across the line at the end of every lap is Casey Stoner, who did so on two occasions, in 2007 and 2009.

  • The Malaysian Grand Prix at Sepang has been the deciding race in the MotoGP™ championship on four occasions: in 2003, 2005 and 2009 when Valentino Rossi won the title, and in 2010 in favour of Jorge Lorenzo.


Other updates you may be interested in ›