Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

FIM Awards Ceremony completes 2015 MotoGP™ season

FIM Awards Ceremony completes 2015 MotoGP™ season

The FIM Award Ceremony brought a close to the 2015 MotoGP™ World Championship season at the Gran Premio Motul de la Comunitat Valenciana.

Following Sunday’s Valencia GP the 2015 MotoGP™ season was brought to an end at the FIM Awards Ceremony, where among other prize winners, Jorge Lorenzo was presented with the MotoGP™ World Champion trophy after an incredibly dramatic end to the season.

At the Palacio de Congresos the 2015 FIM Awards were hosted by Izaskun Ruiz and Gavin Emmett, with the presenters joined by Dorna Sports CEO Mr Carmelo Ezpeleta and FIM President Mr Vito Ippolito, to hand over the numerous awards throughout the evening event.

The first ever Spanish triple MotoGP™ World Champion, Movistar Yamaha’s Lorenzo, took centre stage as he collected his fifth world title trophy, along with Moto2™ World Champion Johann Zarco (Ajo Motorsport) and the man who ended Britain’s 38 year wait for a title, Moto3™ World Champion Danny Kent (Leopard Racing).

The MotoGP™ Rookie of the Year award was presented to Team Suzuki Ecstar’s Maverick Viñales, whilst Avintia Racing’s Hector Barbera was recognised as the top rider in the Open category.

For his achievements this year in Moto2™ Alex Rins (Paginas Amarillas HP 40) received his Rookie of the Year prize along with the Moto3™ Rookie of the Year Jorge Navarro (Estrella Galicia 0,0) who was also honoured.

The BMW M Award for best qualifier in the MotoGP™ class went to Marquez for the third year in a row, as well as the Tissot Pole of Poles, which went to Zarco in Moto2™ and Kent in Moto3.

The Movistar Yamaha MotoGP team picked up the MotoGP™ Team World title trophy for the first time since 2010 and also the MotoGP™ Constructor Title, while Kalex came out on top in Moto2™, and Honda in Moto3™.

The Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup Champion Bo Bendsneyder, Runner-up Fabio Di Giannantonio and third placed rider Ayumu Sasaki also made appearances on stage to receive their medals for their fine racing in 2015.


Other updates you may be interested in ›