Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

#TheGrandFinale: MotoGP™ race guide

#TheGrandFinale: MotoGP™ race guide

All of the vital information any fan needs to know about the MotoGP™ race at the Gran Premio Motul de la Comunitat Valenciana.

The 30-lap race at the Comunitat Valenciana – Ricardo Tormo kicks off at 14:00 local time on Sunday:

  • Jorge Lorenzo starts from pole for the fifth time in 2015. This is Jorge Lorenzo’s first pole position at Valencia in any of the three grand prix classes.  He is aiming to become just the third rider to overturn a points’ deficit at the final race of the year to become premier-class world champion, alongside Wayne Rainey and Nicky Hayden.

  • Last year’s MotoGP™ winner in Valencia Marc Marquez, starts from second place on the grid – his 11th successive front row start.

  • Taking the final place on the front row is Dani Pedrosa, who will be aiming to take back-to-back MotoGP™ wins for the first time since Jerez and Le Mans in 2013. Pedrosa has won six times previously at Valencia (3 x MotoGP™, 2 x 250cc, 1 x 125cc).

  • Heading the second row of the grid is Aleix Espargaro – his best qualifying result since the Dutch TT.  This is the best qualifying result at Valencia by a Suzuki rider since Kenny Roberts started the 500cc race from pole in 2000.

  • In fifth place on the grid for the third successive race is Cal Crutchlow, the eighth time this year he has been on the second row.

  • Bradley Smith, who has qualified in sixth place on the grid has scored points at all seventeen races so far in 2015, and needs another top fifteen finish to become only the fourth rider to have eighteen points scoring MotoGP™ finishes a single season.

  • Heading the third row is Andrea Iannone, the highest placed Ducati rider on the grid.

  • Pol Espargaro, who has qualified in eighth place on the grid, will be aiming for a first top six finish since the Dutch TT.

  • In ninth place on the grid is Andrea Dovizioso – he was the first Ducati rider across the line last year in Valencia in 4th place.

  • The leading Open Class rider on the grid for the 13th time this year is Hector Barbera, who is currently leading the battle for the Open Class championship by five points from Loris Baz who is starting just one place behind him on the grid.

  • Championship leader Valentino Rossi starts from 26th and last place on the grid after incurring a penalty from the race in Malaysia. The only other time that Rossi has started from the back row of the grid was after receiving a penalty in Qatar in 2004 when he made up fourteen places on the first lap before crashing on the sixth lap when he was in 4th place.


Other updates you may be interested in ›