Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Sepang starts the 2016 Shell Advance Asia Talent Cup

Sepang starts the 2016 Shell Advance Asia Talent Cup

The Shell Advance Asia Talent Cup enters its third year of competition with 2016 getting underway in Sepang,

Winter is over. Long ago was the season finale in Malaysia, Japan’s Ayumu Sasaki showing well after being proclaimed champion of the Shell Advance Asia Talent Cup in Motegi a week earlier. The selection events for the third edition of Cup are also complete and it’s time to start preparing for the season.

Thus, on the 9th and 10th of February, shortly after the MotoGP™ riders have also gotten their 2016 season underway, the riders of the Shell Advance Asia Talent Cup will gather at the Sepang circuit to meet their Honda NSF250s before the season gets underway. The first race of the year is scheduled for the 12th and 13th of March at the Chang International Circuit of Buriram (Thailand).

The test will also be a determining factor in the final composition of the participants in the Cup as there have been several additions. Among the participants this year are several protagonists from the second edition: Masaki and Ogura from Japan, Salim and Izdihar from Indonesia and Thailand’s Chantra.
Participating in the Sepang pre-season test are:

2     Kazuki Masaki     Japan
3     Can Oncu     Turkey
4     Gerry Salim     Indonesia
5     Yuki Kunii     Japan
6      Irfan Ardiansyah     Indonesia
7     Deniz Oncu     Turkey
9     Ai Ogura     Japan
10     Dwiki Hardhiana Suparta     Indonesia
11     Muhammad Izam Ikmal     Malaysia
12     Ryusei Yamanaka     Japan
13     Faldhan Novayaser Mardani     Indonesia
14     Bahattin Sofuoglu     Turkey
15     Shogo Kawasaki     Japan
17     Alif Akbar Utama     Indonesia
18     Somkiat Chantra     Thailand
19     Riku Sugawara     Japan
21     Basyiruddin Samhan Mashuri     Indonesia
22     Ahamed Kadai Yaseen     India
23     Andi Izdihar     Indonesia

Also taking part in the test are four riders whose incorporation in the Cup is subject to their performance during the two days at Sepang: Lachlan Taylor (Australia), Idham Khairuddin (who participated in the 2015 Cup) and Chun Kit Law (China). Australian Tom Edwards will be absent due to injury.

SAATC, 2016

Other updates you may be interested in ›