Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

#StatAttack: Young talents step into Moto3™

#StatAttack: Young talents step into Moto3™

The Moto3™ class has a total of ten rookies in the field in 2016, but several veterans remain.

Moving into the series as full-time riders come the following: Fabio Spiranelli (CIP-Unicom Starker), Fabio di Giannantonio (Gresini Racing Moto3), Adam Norrodin (Drive M7 SIC Racing Team), Nicolo Bulega (SKY Racing Team VR46), Joan Mir (Leopard Racing), Stefano Valtulini (3570 Team Italia), Aron Canet (Estrella Galicia 0,0), Bo Bendsneyder (Red Bull KTM Ajo), Lorenzo Petrarca (3570 Team Italia) and Khairul Idham Pawi (Honda Team Asia).

This addition of new young talent into the Moto3™ class means that at the opening race of the year only three of the riders on the full-time entry list will be aged 22 or over:  Jakub Kornfeil (Drive M7 SIC Racing Team) - 22, Hiroki Ono (Honda Team Asia) - 23 and Alexis Masbou (Peugeot MC SAXOPRINT) - 28. 

Of the 33 riders on the Moto3™ full-time entry list, 22 will still be teenagers at the opening race of the year.  The youngest rider competing full-time in Moto3™ in 2016 is Fabio Spiranelli, who will be 16 years 106 days old at the opening race of the year.

Five of the riders in the Moto3™ entry list have Grand Prix victories to their name: Romano Fenati (SKY Racing Team VR46) - six wins, Alexis Masbou two wins, Niccolo Antonelli (Ongetta-Rivacold) – 2 wins, Enea Bastianini (Gresini Racing Moto3) – one win and Livio Loi (RW Racing GP) – one win.

  • Three of the riders on this years Moto3™ entry list have started all of the 70 Moto3™ races that have taken place since it was introduced in 2012 to replace the 125cc class: Romano Fenati, Jakub Kornfeil and Brad Binder.
  • Niccolo Antonelli has had 69 starts, missing just a single race through injury, the Australian GP in 2012.
  • For the last seven years in the Moto3™/125cc class, the rider winning the world championship has finished on the podium at the opening race of the year in Qatar.
  • Honda riders took the first five places in the Moto3™ race last year in Qatar.
  • The first nine riders across the line in the Qatar Moto3™ race last year were covered by just 0.909 seconds – the smallest margin ever covering the top nine riders (in races that have run to full distance).
  • Alexis Masbou qualified on pole and won the Moto3™ race in Qatar last year and in 2014 he set the lap record on his way to finishing 7th in Qatar. Masbou’s pole last year in Qatar was the first of his Grand Prix career, in what was his 141st Grand Prix start.
  • Enea Bastianini missed out on the Moto3™ win last year in Qatar by just 0.027 seconds, after setting the fastest lap of the race on his way to finishing second, having qualified down in 21st place on the grid.

Other updates you may be interested in ›